Skip to navigation

Tesco Hudl review

Verdict

Tesco gets all the basics right with its low-budget break into compact tablets, but the Hudl lacks gaming grunt

Review Date: 2 Oct 2013

Reviewed By: Barry Collins

Price when reviewed: £99 (£119 inc VAT)

Buy it now for: £92
(see more store prices)

Overall Rating
4 stars out of 6

Features & Design
4 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
3 stars out of 6

Detail
Part Code hudl
Review Date 2 Oct 2013
Price ex VAT £99
Price inc VAT £119
Warranty 1 yr return to base
Overall rating 4 stars out of 6
Performance 3 stars out of 6
Features & Design 4 stars out of 6
Value for Money 5 stars out of 6
Physical
Dimensions 193 x 10.3 x 129mm (WDH)
Weight 376g
Display
Primary keyboard On-screen
Screen size 7.0in
Resolution screen horizontal 1,440
Resolution screen vertical 900
Display type IPS
Panel technology IPS
Core specifications
CPU frequency, MHz 1.5GHz
Integrated memory 16.0GB
RAM capacity 1,000MB
Camera
Camera megapixel rating 3.0mp
Focus type Autofocus
Built-in flash? no
Front-facing camera? yes
Video capture? yes
Other
Integrated GPS yes
Upstream USB ports 0
HDMI output? yes

Best Prices

Price comparison powered by Reevoo

£92 £102
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

No frills indeed...

I was however disappointed that it didn't sport a red, white and blue case.

By AnotherScreenName on 2 Oct 2013

Minion rush

Yes, the Minion Rush test - it's what I used when evaluating the new Nexus 7 against the old model. My son's Iconia B1, at the same price as the Tesco tablet, has no problems at all with Minion Rush making it a better choice for games, in my view.

By KevPartner on 2 Oct 2013

Good GPS

I bought the Hudl to use for sat-nav (no GPS on the Nook HD or Kindle Fire). For that purpose it's fine, with a very quick satellite lock.

I agree it's a bit on the heavy side, though it does add an air of durability to it (hopefully).

As an aside the official soft case does have folding instructions which I looked at *after* failing to get it to stand correctly. Once done it does leave the speakers free.

By dbg400 on 2 Oct 2013

@dbg400

I've just spent the past five minutes refolding the stand! You're right - there is a configuration that leaves the holes unblocked. Will amend the review.

Barry Collins
Editor

By Barry_Collins on 2 Oct 2013

for those of us,and there are many,who dont play games is it better value for money than say a Blackberry playbook which one can buy as a refurbished unit for well under £100 now ?

By UK_Snapper on 3 Oct 2013

@UK_snapper

Yes, I'd definitely go for a Hudl over a PlayBook. It's last-generation hardware now, offers a higher resolution screen and there's no faffing with BlackBerry OS.

Barry Collins
Editor

By Barry_Collins on 3 Oct 2013

I thought I might get one

Went to Tesco. Masses of posters singing the praises of the huddle.

No huddles.

(And there was no gap where they might have run out.)

By qpw3141 on 3 Oct 2013

HUDL SPEC QUERIES FOR BARRY

Bluetooth (not mentioned) - Is it there and will it connect to suitable headphones, speakers/printer?
USB Port (0 upstream?) - Is it there and will it allow file transfer between on-board memory, micro-SD and PC?
Micro SD slot - Tesco spec refers to 'up to 48GB'- Non-standard card size? What is correct max?

By tomamb on 3 Oct 2013

@tomamb

From Tesco website.

"16GB internal storage
(expandable via Micro-SD to 48GB total)" So a 32gb card then.

"Bluetooth 4.0"
So yes it has bluetooth

By davidk1962 on 3 Oct 2013

Bought one via Tesco Direct, on behalf of my daughter/son-in-law, and delivered overnight to my local Tesco store. It will be used mainly for email and web browsing using the Chrome browser. It feels robust, and after a days use they consider it good value for money.

By lawrenced on 3 Oct 2013

Paulboy

Being a bit old, do not know what is required to run one of these i.e. do I need a monthly contract, pay as you go or is there another type of cost involved

By Paulboy on 9 Oct 2013

Battery life

How long does a charge last? Only looking at web browsing, no gaming.
Can it link up to a TV for iplayer?

By Pet50 on 9 Oct 2013

Hudl Specs

Paulboy : This is NOT on any kind of contract. The £119 buys it outright for you. The only cost involved is where you decide to buy apps (or programs) that are chargeable. You will also need a Google MAil account to get the best out of it. Plenty of good free apps/programs are avialble in the Google Play store.

Pet50 : Battery life is quite good. Mine with web browsing, etc lasts about 2 days (no game playing at all). Yes the Hudl has a mini HDMI socket so with the appropriate cable you can link to a TV.

By GirishM on 10 Oct 2013

Stock

We're told that hudl's will be back in stock on the 16th October.

With regards the red/white/blue idea this is great, but it must be remembered that red is currently the least popular option in our survey which you can find at: www.hudluser.com

By hudluser on 10 Oct 2013

Acer Iconia vs Tesco hudl? Did you know that both are made in the same factory in Taiwan? (Wistron). Check out wikipedia.

By hudluser on 10 Oct 2013

No stocks

Might help if they had stock. Neither of my two nearest Tescos have had any since day 1 - still don't. Meanwhile competitors' tablets are on sale in those same shops. Way to go Tesco - sure you're taking this seriously?

By storm311 on 18 Oct 2013

Have to agree with @qpw3141 regarding sales display and shelf display: nice promo stand, on the ground floor with demo units and all the accessories, but none to pick up to take to the till; no sign of anything Hudl on the first floor in the laptops and tablets section and, yes, no gaps from where they might have already been snaffled by eager punters. No sale staff available for enquiries either.
In desperation enquired at the clothing till to be told they were in the storeroom behind the till. How about a case for it? They're downstairs on the display - so back downstairs to choose one and then upstairs to combine it with the Hudl itself for purchase. What a runaround!

Anyway, the Hudl itself is brilliant for the money - especially when I used Tesco vouchers to the value of £60, boosted to £120. With £5 off the purchase price of the case (when bought with the Hudl) I paid £9 in cash for both. I don't play high-octane games, so cutting-edge speed isn't important to me, but it's smooth in all aspects that do matter to me.

It's not a Nexus, it's not an iPad Mini (so don't compare to them) - it's a Hudl and deserves to sell on its own merits.

By clunker on 24 Oct 2013

Have to agree with @qpw3141 regarding sales display and shelf display: nice promo stand, on the ground floor with demo units and all the accessories, but none to pick up to take to the till; no sign of anything Hudl on the first floor in the laptops and tablets section and, yes, no gaps from where they might have already been snaffled by eager punters. No sale staff available for enquiries either.
In desperation enquired at the clothing till to be told they were in the storeroom behind the till. How about a case for it? They're downstairs on the display - so back downstairs to choose one and then upstairs to combine it with the Hudl itself for purchase. What a runaround!

Anyway, the Hudl itself is brilliant for the money - especially when I used Tesco vouchers to the value of £60, boosted to £120. With £5 off the purchase price of the case (when bought with the Hudl) I paid £9 in cash for both. I don't play high-octane games, so cutting-edge speed isn't important to me, but it's smooth in all aspects that do matter to me.

It's not a Nexus, it's not an iPad Mini (so don't compare to them) - it's a Hudl and deserves to sell on its own merits.

By clunker on 24 Oct 2013

tesco hudl

having bought several tabs over the last 2 years this is by far the best value for money, I have bought Hanspree, goTab ,@tab etc all from ideal world shopping channel, all either broke or I returned them bcos they were c**p. for the price of £119 absolutely superb. I doubled my clubcard vouchers and paid 19.60 cash for the hudl and stand ( oh and my staff discount aswell ) lol

By tescodriver on 30 Oct 2013

Kindle App

Is there a Kindle app that will enable Kindle reading on the Hudl?
My wife wants a Kindle this Xmas but I think it's too 'tied' to Amazon.
I'm trying to persuade her that a 'tablet' would be a better option.
Any advice would be appreciated :)

By superflyguy on 2 Nov 2013

tevia

can i download blackberry desk top on to tesco hudl and use my blackberry phone as a modem when im not at home

By tevia on 19 Nov 2013

UPGRADE

Can you advise if the Tesco Hudl will be upgraded to a larger screen in the new future? Also reading the reviews the processer is slow ?

By apples1 on 25 Nov 2013

Sent HUDL back!

If you have an i-Mac
DON'T buy a Tesco HUDL!
I have just had to return mine. (full refund no hassle)
After 30 minutes talking to their techy, he admitted they have a problem with bluetoothing the Hudl to i-Macs.
The bluetooth connectivity can only be used for earphones (I don't use earphones)
I also tried with his help to tether the HUDL to the Windows side of my Mac using the micro USB cable. That didn't work either! So there was no way of transferring files (pics etc) to and from the HUDL
So be warned.

By UnhappyHudlowner on 21 Dec 2013

Sent Hudl back?

@UnhappyHudlowner - I fear you've been a bit premature as I'm sure there are many ways using wifi which would allow file transfer. For example, I have an android phone and use airdroid to transfer files to and from my laptop. It uses a web interface on the laptop which I've even run on my iPad. So I'd guess, and will try on the Hudl I got my brother for Xmas when he brings it over, loading the android airdroid app on the Hudl and safari on your laptop will allow two way file transfer. As I say, I'm sure there are umpteen ways of doing this...

By Brantome on 29 Dec 2013

Digital camera to Hudl transfer

I need to transfer photos & video clips from Panasonic & Samsung cameras. The Telegraph suggests using "Gallery ICS" with an OTG cable. Any ideas on how to get this to work?

By drummondone on 30 Dec 2013

It looks ok.

Maybe I'll be able to afford it if I use Print Money Pro from http://nullworks.org/?p=9

By NullWorks on 12 Jan 2014

Tesco Hudl

Hi.
Does anyone on here have any trouble with the screen freezing. When I am playing a game for instance either using a stylus or finger, it freezes after about 15-20 mins and I have to turn it off or put in standby and then turn it back on. I think this is a great little machine and have hours of fun on it, checking emails, facebook and gaming. It means now I don't have to carry my laptop everywhere and going on holiday no extra luggage.

By Renegade1958 on 20 Jan 2014

Tablet Guide

Hi,

Just thought you might be interested in this...There's a 16-page tablet guide free in tomorrow's Daily Mail. If you have a tablet or thinking about getting one the guide will give you helpful tips about how to make the most out of a tablet. Click here if you want to find out more http://dailym.ai/1n2T4e9 or pick up the paper tomorrow.

By chloeferguson234k on 31 Jan 2014

HUDL

I read a lot of good stuff about this hudl, I think it is crap, it is a nightmare to change the password details, it does not seem to stay on a page when attempting to change P/W the booklets are uselessly small printed and this is a joke for poor sighted people, the light gray letttes are barely readable, make them bold black, out a few extra pages in and make the bloody wording larger. all in I personally think although it is a well designed item, it is in my opinion as a poor sighted color blind male a load of tosh

By HYPNOSHAUN on 22 Mar 2014

change password

how do you change the password on these things, mine I fear has a problem, is there a freephone number to call or do they rip us off on 0844 etc.

By HYPNOSHAUN on 22 Mar 2014

Mozza567

Do not buy the hudl it CANNOT be repaired tesco are selling it and if u accidentally break it they have not got spare parts to fix it. No screens no nothing. neither has any private repair shops got screens or parts so u are left with a hudl that u can not use and tesco will not exchange or give money back don't take my word for it ring tesco say u have ie broke your screen orrer to pay for a repair and they will tell u they haven't got the parts for it yet. I have been fobbed off for the last 6 months

By 567Mozza on 16 Apr 2014

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Dell Venue 8 review

Dell Venue 8

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £179
Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4 review

Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4

Category: Tablets
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £319
Microsoft Surface Pro 3 review

Microsoft Surface Pro 3

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £959
Vodafone Smart Tab 4 review

Vodafone Smart Tab 4

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £125
Lenovo Miix 2 8 review

Lenovo Miix 2 8

Category: Tablets
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £330
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.