Skip to navigation

Amazon Kindle Fire HD 8.9in review

Verdict

Amazon upgrades its Android-based tablet with a bigger, better screen

Review Date: 4 Apr 2013

Reviewed By: Darien Graham-Smith

Price when reviewed: £191 (16GB, £191 (£229 inc VAT); 32GB, £216 (£259 inc VAT). Without ads: 16GB, £199 (£239 inc VAT); 32GB, £224 (£269 inc VAT) inc VAT)

Overall Rating
4 stars out of 6

Features & Design
4 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
3 stars out of 6

Detail
Part Code Kindle Fire HD 8.9in
Review Date 4 Apr 2013
Price ex VAT £191
Price inc VAT 16GB, £191 (£229 inc VAT); 32GB, £216 (£259 inc VAT). Without ads: 16GB, £199 (£239 inc VAT); 32GB, £224 (£269 inc VAT)
Warranty 1 yr return to base
Overall rating 4 stars out of 6
Performance 3 stars out of 6
Features & Design 4 stars out of 6
Value for Money 5 stars out of 6
Physical
Dimensions 239 x 163 x 9mm (WDH)
Weight 567g
Display
Primary keyboard On-screen
Screen size 8.9in
Resolution screen horizontal 1,080
Resolution screen vertical 1,920
Display type LCD
Battery
Battery capacity 6,000mAh
Core specifications
CPU frequency, MHz 2MHz
Integrated memory 16.0GB
RAM capacity 1.00GB
Other
WiFi standard 802.11n
Integrated GPS yes
Software
Mobile operating system Android 4
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Amazon App Store is a Joke

My daughter has the Kindle Fire HD 7" and while it is a fine tablet the app situation really annoys me. If you want BBC iPlayer, ITV player or even YouTube you need to locate the apk files and sideload them. This is really not as simple as it sounds and I came across some dodgy sites claiming to have the .apk files. Just be careful where you try to get them from!

By dwmoook on 4 Apr 2013

Think again.

"However, since no-one else is offering a full-size Android tablet at this price, the Kindle Fire HD 8.9in’s foibles could be worth putting up with."

Bet you wish you had not typed that out.
Archos Platinum 97HD £229 on Amazon (!) quad core cpu, 8 core graphics, 9.7" 2048 x 1536 pixel IPS panel, fully google play certified. OK its only 8gb but the SD card slot accepts 64gb media.

or the Titanium version for sub £200 with dual core cpu and quad core graphics.

I am sure there are many others.

By davidk1962 on 4 Apr 2013

The Kindle Fire is also a gateway to Amazon’s Lovefilm streaming service.


This is the only reason to by a kindle fire. Otherwise, it's nothing special and more expensive that the nexus.

By JamesD29 on 4 Apr 2013

Buy a dictionary

To Darien Graham-Smith

Buy yourself a dictionary and stop using words you don't understand:- (Equivocal:calculus:consuming)!!

By oldpedant on 4 Apr 2013

You'd have to really dislike movies to want to watch them on a 9-inch screen.

By nelviticus on 4 Apr 2013

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Fujitsu Stylistic Q704 review

Fujitsu Stylistic Q704

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £1,771
Hands on: Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 Pro review

Hands on: Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 Pro

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £1,771
Hands on: Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 review

Hands on: Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £1,771
Tesco Hudl 2 review

Tesco Hudl 2

Category: Tablets
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £129
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.