Skip to navigation

Acer Iconia Tab A700 review

Verdict

Acer’s Iconia Tab A700 packs in Nvidia’s Tegra 3 and a superb Full HD screen for under £400

Review Date: 10 Aug 2012

Reviewed By: Mike Jennings

Price when reviewed: £319 (£383 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
5 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
4 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

Apple’s iPad blazed a trail with its high resolution Retina display, and now its Android rivals are attempting to follow suit. The Asus Transformer Pad Infinity 700 was the first to go Full HD, but Acer’s Iconia Tab A700 is hot on its heels - and unlike its wallet-busting rival, it costs a mere £363.

The Iconia Tab A700 stretches that resolution across a 10in display. Acer describes the display as “IPS quality” - it hasn’t been able to confirm exactly which panel technology is in use - but the results are stunning. The Iconia A700 has the wide viewing angles we’ve come to expect from tablets with IPS panels, and colours are bold and accurate throughout.

The native resolution is actually 1,920 x 1,200, which makes for a tightly-packed pixel density of 224ppi. That can’t quite match the 264ppi of the iPad, but gives crisp text and images, and pixels can barely be seen, even close-up. The maximum brightness of 333cd/m2 is perfectly acceptable for most situations, even if it’s some way behind the scorching Super IPS+ mode of the Asus.

Acer Iconia A700

At 11mm thick and 649g it’s a little bulkier than most top-end tablets, and the rear is constructed from plastic. Still, despite a little flex, the Acer feels solid and sturdy enough to last the course.

Acer has fitted the Iconia A700 with Nvidia’s Tegra 3 chipset, but it’s the T30S model running at 1.3GHz rather than the 1.4GHz T33 used in the Asus. The lower clock speed provides performance that’s respectable rather than outstanding: in Quadrant the Acer scored 3,284 to the Infinity's 4,941, and it’s also a little slower than the Asus Transformer Pad 300, which scored 4,037.

The pattern was repeated in SunSpider: the Acer’s 2,794ms is nothing to be ashamed of, but it can't match the 2,008ms of the Transformer Pad 300.

1 2
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Acer Iconia Tab A700

It costs a mere £383 & for that I bought the wife a 17.3" Toshiba laptop Pentium B960 processor, 4GB ram 750gb hard drive & it cost £78 less. Ok it was an open box from Argos Outlet but came with 12 months warranty.

By roberttrebor on 11 Aug 2012

Buy from where?

Its all very well reviewing products like these, but when no-where in the UK actually sells them, then the review becomes a bit pointless! If I lived in America then there would not be a problem.

By KlingonBatleth on 11 Aug 2012

Its about compromise

@roberttrebor - Its all very well suggesting that the the tosh is vastly better value, but try dropping said laptop into a shoulder bag and leaping onto a train. Then try pulling it out (even making rash assumptions about having a seat) and doing stuff with it... tablet is going to win hands down. I'd bet the tosh would be pushed to run for 8.5 hours too. My full toybox is going to run to a kindle a tablet a laptop and a desktop - because each of those does things the other can't... my usage may be an edge case (I'm a developer, I need horsepower) but each of those toys is a different set of compromises and appropriate to varying circumstances

By Murph on 11 Aug 2012

Somewhere in the UK sells them

@KlingonBatleth

Google Acer Iconia A700 review and you get a review on Expert Reviews, a Dennis Publishing site. The review by Seth Barton gives a price and a link to a site you can buy from in the UK. There are two left if you are quick ;)

By mr_chips on 11 Aug 2012

big thing about tablets

Am I the only one who think USB, HDMI and SD-card ports are a biiiiiiig deal on tablets? I’d like to see Tablet reviews taking that into account!
Iconia Tabs should IMHO get the credits they deserve on connectivity compared to all the other tablets (on fair tablet vs tablet comparisons, not with fancy docks & extra $ involved!). It does have some cons as listed in http://www.squidoo.com/acer-iconia-tab-a700-review

By girnmingk on 16 Aug 2012

Lovely Price

Unfortunately I can't afford £383, so Am looking at something a bit cheaper 1 GHZ Arm 7, 1Gb Ram, 16GB memory, 1024 x 768, 8,000 mHa Battery 0.3 / 2.0 MP cameras ICS 4 for £129 + £6.95 delivery, that is more my budget, love to see a review here on the Kogan tablets.

By roberttrebor on 17 Aug 2012

Lovely Price

Unfortunately I can't afford £383, so Am looking at something a bit cheaper 1 GHZ Arm 7, 1Gb Ram, 16GB memory, 1024 x 768, 8,000 mHa Battery 0.3 / 2.0 MP cameras ICS 4 for £129 + £6.95 delivery, that is more my budget, love to see a review here on the Kogan tablets.

By roberttrebor on 17 Aug 2012

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Microsoft Surface Pro 3 review

Microsoft Surface Pro 3

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £959
Vodafone Smart Tab 4 review

Vodafone Smart Tab 4

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £125
Lenovo Miix 2 8 review

Lenovo Miix 2 8

Category: Tablets
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £330
Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5 review

Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5

Category: Tablets
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £395
Lenovo Miix 2 8in review

Lenovo Miix 2 8in

Category: Tablets
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £330
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.