Skip to navigation

Acronis True Image Home 2011 review

Verdict

A smart backup tool that’s easy to use and comes with plenty of handy extras - but test the trial before you buy

Review Date: 25 Nov 2010

Reviewed By: Darien Graham-Smith

Price when reviewed: £34 (£40 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
6 stars out of 6

Features & Design
6 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Ease of Use
6 stars out of 6

This latest version of Acronis’s disk and file backup package has a bright Windows 7-style interface that’s a breeze to use — but few new features. The only real enhancement over last year’s edition is support for user-selected archival schemes, which determine how long your backup files are kept for. Simply set up a schedule, or a maximum permitted size or number of backup archives, and True Image will manage the rest.

Beyond that, if you’re a 2010 user the upgrade isn’t a great deal. However, if you’re used to rudimentary shareware tools, True Image is a revelation. Full-system images are created in the background via Windows’ Shadow Copy service so there’s no interruption to your work. Image files can be restored in full, or mounted as virtual drives, so you can extract just the files and information you need.

Personal data, meanwhile, is backed up every five minutes in the transparent “nonstop backup” mode. Your files and folders are automatically archived on a secondary drive or in a specially partitioned “Secure Zone” on your primary drive, and you can browse forward and backward through different versions of the file system.

Acronis True Image Home 2011

This two-pronged approach should more than cover your regular backup needs, but True Image is also generous with the extras. The Try & Decide tool lets you snapshot your system before installing unknown software or visiting suspicious websites. There’s a disk cloning tool, a drive wiper and a file shredder, and a nice feature that lets you convert Acronis files to and from Windows Backup format.

There’s an online backup module too, but it’s only as a 30-day trial with 2GB of storage; upgrading to a year-long, 250GB subscription will cost £40 inc VAT or £4 a month. You can save money by making your own arrangements, as True Image will happily upload backups to any FTP destination.

The other optional add-on is the Plus Pack, which adds hardware-independent restoration (so you can restore a system image to a different PC to the one it came from) as well as WinPE support and the ability to work with dynamic and GPT disks. For home users it’s probably not worth the extra cost.

Be warned that numerous PC Pro readers have reported previous versions not working correctly on their systems, and that technical support has been poor once the paltry 30-day support period expires. So before investing, we strongly suggest you download the 30-day trial and use it in anger; if you hit problems then you should look elsewhere.

But if True Image Home 2011 works for you, as it did for us throughout our testing, it’s still the best home backup package we’ve used, so it gets a – qualified – recommendation.

Author: Darien Graham-Smith

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

We had to upgrade to 2011 at the office as the last version did not support our new machines properly. It would not see the external HDDs. This new version works perfectly.

By james016 on 25 Nov 2010

I'm glad to see that PCPro is finally talking about the issues people have had using Acronis True Image.

I'm a great fan of their products, as when the features work they are great.

I have to point out that since we started using ATI 8 to all the way to current version we have had various issues on various machines.

The most common issue is that the recovery disk will not detect any hard drives in your system, but other issues relate to automatic consolidation etc.

I'd recommend people search out Acronis's forums and have a good read before taking the plunge.

By luminous on 25 Nov 2010

User Opinion Seems to Differ

This review seems to be at odds with the 17 x 1 Star reviews on Amazon since launch on 15 Sep?

By incognitii on 25 Nov 2010

Correction

In the interests of accuracy, that should read '1 Star' (from 17 reviews: 16x 1 star & 1x 3 star at time of writing)

By incognitii on 25 Nov 2010

PC Pro reviews in doubt?

When 17 separate people give a poor review on Amazon you just know the product is the worlds biggest turkey.

So when PC Pro give a glowing 5 star review it does make me worry about PC Pro's judgement.

I often use the A list and PC Pro reviews as a guide to what to buy.

This has seriously shaken my confidence in PC Pro.

One or two bad reviews on Amazon I'd put down to user error but 17 out of 17 bad reviews! ( If you read the 3 star review it reads like a 1 star review but I gues the reviewer was being generous )

By cyberindie on 25 Nov 2010

I use windows 7 back up and restore center.Seems to work fine for me.Already managed to retrieve a file i had accidently overwritten using the backup.

By Jaberwocky on 25 Nov 2010

Acronis

We’re fully aware that some users have experienced problems with Acronis True Image, which is why we've devoted an entire paragraph in the review to making it clear that you should download the 30-day trial first.

For three straight years now, we've had no errors during our own tests, across many different systems, and as ever we have to go on our own experience rather than reports on the web. If we refused to be positive about any product that had bad reviews elsewhere online, you wouldn't have an A List.

By all means let us know precisely what problems you're having - it might help others having the same issues.

Regards
David Bayon
Deputy reviews editor

By DavidBayon on 25 Nov 2010

Good/Bad Reviews

Fair Comment, David - generally speaking. However you must acknowledge that sites like Amazon are noted for fairly balanced reviews: unlike many sites, you usually get more positives than negatives.
So for a product to receive universally poor reviews in its first 6 weeks since launch, and to have been excoriated over the past 2-4 iterations of the same product - surely some wider research and more caution is required?

By incognitii on 25 Nov 2010

@DavidBayon

Every product - even the best - get a few bad reviews on Amazon. User error often or just someone whos a bit of a moaner.

But to get so many really suggests the software has more than the usual minor teething issues.

If your testing isn't picking this up it casts doubt on your testing.

If a product with so many bad reviews is considered worthy of an A list status then it really makes the A list a farce.

By cyberindie on 25 Nov 2010

I don't disagree. The problem is that when it works, Acronis is the most comprehensive and easy to use home backup suite we've tested. So we have that dilemma of knowing it's mostly very good but also knowing a small number of people - and in the grand scheme of things it is still small - will have a bad experience with it.

I don't think it's right to tell people not to even risk it. The alternative is to give it a low score but say "try the trial, you might love it", which I don't think reflects our experience with the software.

It's an unusual situation, and as always if we're flooded with emails saying this version is terrible we'll have to take that into account.

Regards
David Bayon
Deputy reviews editor

By DavidBayon on 25 Nov 2010

User Support

On a related tangent - didn't you run an interview with the CEO last year where he acknowledged their appalling customer/tech support and promised to rectify this? I also seem to recall you would report on any progress here?
The reviews suggest not much has changed.....

By incognitii on 25 Nov 2010

@DavidBayon

Fair enough - you have to report what you actually found in your tests.

And you have mentioned the issues in your tests.

But I suspect the number of users with issues is not small. Allowing for the fact people with problems are probably twice as likely to leave a review as ones who loved it that still suggests 50% of users are having problems. That's not small!

I looked on Amazon.com - a more mixed result but still 50% of people giving 1 or 2 star reviews.

The software certain gives a large minority of users issues. Perhaps their systems are not clean installs of Windows like I guess the PC Pro systems will be.

Software or hardware giving that many people problems definately doesn't deserve A list status - even though I appreciate you would want to keep the scrore high in the review

By cyberindie on 25 Nov 2010

Bad experience...

People who have a bad experience with a product are much more likely to complain and write up a bad review.

On iTunes, they found most people only rated an app when they deleted it. Those that were happy rarely bothered going back rating or reviewing.

As to Acronis, from around 200 machines I've used it on, I've had 1 old Toshiba notebook which refused to co-operate.

By big_D on 25 Nov 2010

Bad experience...contd

I would refer you to my earlier comment that you normally get a more balanced picture from sites like Amazon which encourage reviewers.
For my part, having tried Acronis on 3 desktops & 2 laptops over 3 versions and crashed & burned each time - especially at critical times like restoring - and received NO help/response from Acronis support - I'm on the sceptic team

By incognitii on 25 Nov 2010

Poor support and promised fixes not produced

As someone who has used True Image over a number of years I have learnt to not trust the early builds. But 2010 had some issues that on the forum software staff said there would be fixes for. With the 2011version some of the fixes were in it and now, what a surprise, the faulty software many customers have is not to be corrected but lump it or buy the new version.
I have found the only reliable way of using the program is using it from a boot disk for backups and if needed restores and NOT to trust it on any of my PC’s. Given the comments/problems on there support site that is as true of 2011 as 2010 versions.
Its good PC Pro is pointing out the problems many have with TrueImige but its worth reiteration that the continues back up and indeed incremental back up are incompatible with hard drive defragmentation so removing there value for most users.

By john_33 on 25 Nov 2010

One thing that I have found with Acronis when using it at home is that I need to plug my HDD into the back USB ports rather than the front. I get errors when trying to create a backup using the front ports. Restoring from a backup is fine using the front ports though.

By james016 on 25 Nov 2010

Works for me

For what it's worth, and I appreciate other may have had different experiences I've never had a problem with Acronis from v8 up to the current home version I run. Have a number of jobs scheduled and it just works. Used on XP, Vista and now W7. I'm not upgrading to this new version because it doesn't give me anything above what the current version does.

By simonhiscocks on 25 Nov 2010

Robocopy

I currently use TrueImage 2010 to do complete copies of my drives.

But one thing I have always disliked about any backup software is the closed compression and encryption it performs. This leaves you at the mercy of the vendor when problems occur.

In addition to my image backups I use Robocopy to perform a directory mirror of all my work to another PC. Robocopy is a Microsoft tool included in Vista and beyond and downloadable for OSs prior to this.

Try it, start a command prompt and type Robocopy. I use:

Robocopy source dest /mir

Then I have an exact copy of all my work in a normal non compressed or encrypted way.

By AdamJ on 25 Nov 2010

Wait for it to be patched first

On the topic of TI2011, as john_33 said, it's the release versions of True Image that have the problems. The top rated review on Amazon, notes it takes ages for backups to verify. This was a bug in the release version that has since been fixed with a patch.

The question is, why do Acronis release True Image software in such a buggy state? I've still encountered one bad bug in TI2011, whereby Windows freezes on shutdown, after an initial backup.

Apart from this bug, I've found TI2011 to be a good program. If you're using TI2010, there's not enough here to recommend an upgrade. But, yes, trying the demo first is definitely the right way to go about things.

By pbryanw on 25 Nov 2010

Update released

Just as an FYI, a new update has been released for True Image 2011 today. Hopefully a lot more bugs have been ironed out.

By pbryanw on 25 Nov 2010

It "doesn't work" for me

I tried TI2010 last year, and didn't work. Acronis support were very nice, tried usual re-install latest, run this program to get your PC settings, sorry can't help, we have passed your details to our technical support, never heard from them again.

Tried TI2011 this year, exact same story to the letter.

For the record, this year acronis would work for let's say 2/3 days after install, and then silently it would just stop doing back-ups with meaningless error. Extremely dangerous since you "should trust" the program doing the backups, but since it suddently and silently stops working you can't really rely on it.

I begged Acronis support to look at the logs, maybe turn up debug level to at least understand what made it fail, but answer was sorry can't help, will pass issue to support and let you know.

Great idea, unreliable implementation, apolling support.

Sorry to say discusted it has been awarded an A-list with so many people flooded with problems.

By edu1992 on 25 Nov 2010

Poor quality software

At last, a review that hints there are problems with Acronis. I have a small home office network and in mid 2009 decided to move away from tape streamer backup, to removable hard drives as I had just bought a new W7 PC as my main computer. Tested several software solutions for back-up, especially Acronis as it was on PCPro's A list.

Well. It had a really nice user interface, but other than that, was nothing but trouble, with continual lockups and freezing of the PC (exact details now escape me). I could probably have forgiven the software if it was an old PC full of rubbish, but this was a new W7 Pro install. Simple I thought - just uninstall Acronis. Fine, except the uninstaller left half the stuff behind, including a service still running! I finally got rid of it, but not after a lot of time and trouble that I should not need to do.

On the basis of that experience, I can't even recommend that it is installed as a trial - at least not unless you wish to spend lots of wasted time rebuilding your PC. That said it was probably version 9 or 10 that I used.

Finally settled on Macrium Reflect (which PCPro hardly ever seems to mention). Rock solid (have done a complete restore with no issues), but perhaps not as pretty. As for support - it is superb. Any email I have sent to them has always been replied to within 24hrs, and their forum is great.

By Martinlro110 on 25 Nov 2010

New update as buggy as ever!

After seeing this review and posts thought I would give 2011 a go to see if its as buggy as ever. I did this yesterday as a new version was published. Its as buggy as ever, on a laptop with a USB drive, over 400Mb free, the new program reported too few drive space to maje a back up (well 2010 was happy with it!). Overriding this it made a backup with nearly 300Mb free after it. Another try had it saying too little space!
Ob the support fourm there are others finding the isue, tohe solution use the new build, well that isn't a fix as I only had that to try. Some bugs sorted ather big ones introduced. There is no way of trusing this bug ridden program.

By john_33 on 26 Nov 2010

@Big_d

iTunes reviewing works differently from Amazon.

On iTunes it takes just a second or two to set a star rating review - no thought and little action required by the user.

So you're right on iTunes its skewed towards the low end because lots of people install an app ( with no free trial ) and find it doesn't do what they expect and give it one star.

Amazon on the other hand you have to make a lot more effort to create a review. I don't notice it skewed towards poor ratings - in fact fairly balanced.

By cyberindie on 26 Nov 2010

An opportunity for PcPro?

Without bothering to recount my experience of ATI (it largely works but I have had some irritating problems) nor taking a swipe at the claims for the latest "Includes USB 3 support!!! Cheeky.) why not use this as an opportunity? How about the first ever, in a NEW (please) format, head to head ATI v Paragon (that's it's main competitor?). Curiously, no reviews on Amazon of P. that I can see. If you want to, cover "the rest" briefly listing highs and lows.

Never heard of Macrium (thanks for the mention). Took a quick look. Gives the impression of being focussed on partition backups. Maybe they just don't shout a load of advertising b******s as loud as ATI?

PS Genie always sruck me as interesting and i have NEVER succeeded in getting my head around what is built into what version of Windows. An opportunity here to look at keeping your pc safe in several articles: "The recovery edition"?

PPS PLEASE - backups - NOT imaging.

By JohnHo1 on 26 Nov 2010

Macrium Reflect

Can fully endorse MARTINIRO110's comments on Macrium Reflect. Have been using it on 2 PCs. 1 laptop for a year now since I finally gave up on Acronis TI110.
Macrium also has a free edition (without incremental backups). I can fully reccommend this program - precisely the sort that PCpro should run evaluations of ( eg with Comodo, etc)

By incognitii on 26 Nov 2010

What Worries Me

Is the reliance people seem to put on the Amazon reviews. Am I the only one who takes them with a pinch of salt? There's no control data, we have no idea what % of sales these 17 people represent and it could be anything from 100% down to less than 1%. We know nothing about their competence, their hardware or what agenda they may have. I've had some excellent stuff from Amazon but have never left a review. On the other hand if, for whatever reason, people are unhappy they will usually make time to complain even if the problem is their own lack of understanding.

I’ve been using Acronis 2010 and previous versions without any issues, in fact it has been a life saver as I’m always tinkering with my systems for one reason or another and all of them are far from standard. It sits there automatically doing its thing and sending email notifications. I have even set up rules in outlook so I only get to see these when there’s an issue like a lack of space.

I would never trust the reviews, I like to make my own mind up and the only way is to download a trial version and see how it performs.

I do not doubt that some people do have problems and I know how frustrating that can be but it does not necessarily mean that the product is rubbish. There must be countless combinations of hardware that make up what we call a PC and testing them all would be clearly impossible which brings us back to the trial version so people can do their own testing.

By njm1404 on 26 Nov 2010

Viable alternative......?

I have used TIH for many versions. I have also had problems - installation not working for TIH 2010 and 2011 which resulted in both cases of Acronis support having remote access to my PC to resolve. More importantly for me, I schedule a weekly backup. But the scheduler never works. So after several years with Acronis it is time to vote with my feet. Suggested alternatives please...:)

By jontym123 on 28 Nov 2010

useless product

Have a new Win 7 Pro system. loaded this software. It said it would take 8 hours to backup 57gig. I let it backup all night and the backup failed. This product is worthless and does not work at all. Norton backedup my system in 72 min and did fine. this product is a rip off.

By drewm2125 on 30 Nov 2010

stupid little program

When you compare this to Time Machine on a Mac, this really is a shoddy little program. I am no backup guru but it does not even satisfy my basic requirements:

(1) Easy restore of old file versions (can't be bothered to monkey around with it, it's just not obvious how to do it)

(2) Scheduled backup should run automatically when I plug in USB disk. It doesn't. Blame Windows scheduler if you like but I don't care. It doesn't work.

(3) Worst of all, when the volume is full it just invites you to manually delete old backups. There's no way of knowing whether this is safe to do.

This program is rubbish.

By c6ten on 1 Dec 2010

It's not just Acronis....

I suffered from numerous issues with ATI 2009 and was advised to upgrade to 2010 which was no better. A refund was provided by Acronis. The non-stop backup mode was a notable disaster in that every 5 minutes my machine would 'freeze' whilst ATI 2010 did its thing. Setting the interval to a greater time period simply resulted in a longer 'freeze' period as more files were backed up. Unless you have an absolute top-end system or work on a machine where few files are updated as part of your normal activities the non-stop backup feature is pointless.

I've tried Novastor, Genie and many other Windows backup services but have reverted to using the built-in disk imaging software alongside Synctoy.

There are very few, if any, reliable Windows backup programs out there so if I was you I'd make the most of the tools provided by Microsoft. They're free, they work and more importantly you're not stuck with proprietary formats (unless you use a service that backs up to vhd).

By spbond on 2 Dec 2010

It's not just Acronis....

I suffered from numerous issues with ATI 2009 and was advised to upgrade to 2010 which was no better. A refund was provided by Acronis. The non-stop backup mode was a notable disaster in that every 5 minutes my machine would 'freeze' whilst ATI 2010 did its thing. Setting the interval to a greater time period simply resulted in a longer 'freeze' period as more files were backed up. Unless you have an absolute top-end system or work on a machine where few files are updated as part of your normal activities the non-stop backup feature is pointless.

I've tried Novastor, Genie and many other Windows backup services but have reverted to using the built-in disk imaging software alongside Synctoy.

There are very few, if any, reliable Windows backup programs out there so if I was you I'd make the most of the tools provided by Microsoft. They're free, they work and more importantly you're not stuck with proprietary formats (unless you use a service that backs up to vhd).

By spbond on 2 Dec 2010

It's not just Acronis....

I suffered from numerous issues with ATI 2009 and was advised to upgrade to 2010 which was no better. A refund was provided by Acronis. The non-stop backup mode was a notable disaster in that every 5 minutes my machine would 'freeze' whilst ATI 2010 did its thing. Setting the interval to a greater time period simply resulted in a longer 'freeze' period as more files were backed up. Unless you have an absolute top-end system or work on a machine where few files are updated as part of your normal activities the non-stop backup feature is pointless.

I've tried Novastor, Genie and many other Windows backup services but have reverted to using the built-in disk imaging software alongside Synctoy.

There are very few, if any, reliable Windows backup programs out there so if I was you I'd make the most of the tools provided by Microsoft. They're free, they work and more importantly you're not stuck with proprietary formats (unless you use a service that backs up to vhd).

By spbond on 2 Dec 2010

Works fine

I have used Acronis 2010 on several machines - both desktop & laptop. It is the only back up I have found that has not fallen over during use. Most others have failed with a "cannot copy file in use" message. Have restored several hdd without any problems. Tried 2011 but did not find enough difference to warrant changing.

By shutterbug1 on 2 Dec 2010

Acronis T. Image = BSD

Running Win7 64Bit version for months on end. Had no problems until I installed the latest True Image Home. Now suffer frequent BSD crashes. So.. removed true image... BSD crashes gone. My advice to Acronis ?
Back to the drawing board folks, this program is useless.

By ei7ii on 4 Dec 2010

Has been fine for me until now

I've used TIH through a number of versions and had no significant problems. Until now. TIH 2010 was fine with Win 7 32-bit but not 64-bit. When I boot from CD, my keyboard and mouse are dead, so I can't do anything. Useless! I've built CDs from the s/w as well as from downloaded ISOs - no good. Research shows that this has been a common problem over different versions for a long time, and still there's no fix from Acronis. I'd be willing to bet their code is in an appalling mess and hence unmanageable, after all the years of development.

Where do I go from here?

By dhaverty on 7 Dec 2010

New update still problems and blame everything except the program

There is a new update, OK thought try it. For safety I have done nearly all by backups and very occasional restore from a downloaded boot CD (all too often I find the one created from the installed program doesn’t work). With the new build my image has the drive images wrongly labelled, every version before has got those right. I queried this and was told not the programs fault but windows. Odd every build before wasn’t affected by this even on the same PC and setup. But on reflection I realized normal never the program always something else.

By john_33 on 14 Dec 2010

this is not backup software, it's a drive imager

The reason most of these reviews contradict your A-listing is that this program is not fit for purpose. You haven't performed scenario-based testing nor tested it over an extended period of time.

I just tried the file backup, and examining the archives it did not backup most of the folders I specified.

This program is only ever of use for drive-imaging, and should be placed in that category instead. It is lousy for most backup scenarios.

By c6ten on 27 Feb 2011

PC Pro vs Amazon reviewers, who is right?

I was looking around for a good backup software, and reading the PC Pro review, Acronis sounds great. But to date there are 25 1 star reviews on Amazon which is 75% of all the reviewers. Only one person gave it 5 stars.

I know there will always be someone that hates a particular software, but this amount of negative reviews is unusual for any software. As someone pointed out, it takes a bit of effort to leave a review on Amazon, not just clicking a single box. I would expect at most about 25% of negative reviews, but 75% is just unheard of for me!

As for the trial of the software, with so many people reporting problems, I don't even want to chance installing the trial in case it messes up Windows or any of my files on the hard disk.

By KlingonBatleth on 14 Mar 2011

another bad review

I was happily backing up files and then needed to restore a file that had been deleted. Acronis asked me which drive I wanted to restore (I have three hard drives) and then proceeded to restore the entire drive which would require more than 3 hours... it's a terabyte drive. I did not want to restore the whole drive and did not want to take 3 hours so I cancelled the restore. Meanwhile, Acronis started to format the drive and erased the File Allocation Table and made the drive unreadable. It cost me $180 to recover the data (about 80% of it) and make the drive readable. Either I'm stupid or this software is dangerous.

By pessenfeld on 16 Mar 2011

Big problems

If you check the Acronis forums, there are many users reporting unresolved problems with TIH2011.

My advice is avoid at all costs.

By Bluehorizon on 22 May 2011

Backup of "application data" directory no longer supported

It seems that Acronis removed the ability to backup the application data directory in v11:

--------------------------
http://forum.acronis.com/forum/14063

Thank you very much for your interesting question. I will definitely help you with it.

I am sorry for the inconvenience but Application settings and System state backup were removed from Acronis True Image 2011 Home.

If you have any other questions, please let me know.

Thank you.
__________________


Anton Deev

Acronis Customer Central | Acronis Backup Software
--------------------------

A bit of a retrograde step in my opinion. Especially as so much software uses these areas for users' data.

By ndutton on 20 Jun 2011

Half-Baked Software Vendor

Though my experiences with Acronis are not with this home version and are confined to the Enterprise versions, I can thoroughly concur with the negative experiences users have had with this software. On the Enterprise version, it refuses to recognise Active Directoruy DFS namespaces and as and as for it's network location backups...well, talk about hit and miss. Trawl the support forums for the enterprise version and it's littered with workarounds, kludges and half-baked fixes for a product that clearly isn't fit for purpose. Oh, it does actually do a nice job of backing up hard drive partitions but if you want to backup data in a business environment across a network using MS technologies then you're better off with NTBackup. I gave up with Acronis in the end, it's simply too unreliable.

By thedrumdoctor on 20 Sep 2011

No way of fully uninstalling ADIH

On the Acronis forums they have admitted they do not know how to remove the program and the drivers installed. that it’s safer to leave them installed as a result. Roman Alyoshkin wrote: It is not that easy, there are number of cases when it is safer to keep the drivers installed or just leave the binary to keep system safe.
The result as far as Aceonis is concerned the only way to fully remove even a triel install is to reformat and reinstall your system.
How on earth can this program be given any form of recommendation even if it doesn’t mess up your PC now as there is no way of getting it fully removed as you have to leave its DiskDrive and Volume device classes drivers in place.

By john_33 on 1 Dec 2011

Do not Buy

I recently purchased the upgrade to the 2012 version on 24/12/2011 from version 8 after a Christmas marketing email from Acronis.
After several weeks of trying to get the software to work I gave up and contacted their Technical support team on 30/01/2012.
They advised me that I was outside their free 30 day support period (only by a few days) and I would have to purchased support at a cost of $11.84.
I then ask for a refund and this is also set at less than 30 days.
http://www.acronis.com./homecomputing/sales/retail
/refund/
In my onion, a very poor level of service.

So my recommendation is do not buy.

By scotts62 on 1 Feb 2012

Evo;ution - Never

Acronis have tinkered with a competent product of ATI 2009 and previous. I disregarded the correspondence on Amazon regarding 2012 and thought I would make my own mind up. I have used both of the products on an XP system for many years with no problem at all. Now with a new W7 laptop it was time for an upgrade. So download the 30 day free trial and.......
After 2 days my mind is made up. "Anything but ATI 2012" Acronis have tinkered over the last four years adding all sorts of useless functionality most of which does not work. The package now decides what it wants to do, not the other way round. Trust me even leaving the dreaded sync software completely out of the equation. What remains is nothing short of a disaster. Evolution I have heard of Reverse engineering I have experienced, But Acronis have achieved Reverse Evolution! Use this product at your peril.

By ronaldo on 5 Jun 2012

Continuous backup was temperamental. Now does not work.

Acronis true image home 2011 came pre-installed on my PC by a manufacturer who automatically includes it.

Now, 18 months later, continuous protection has failed to work for the second time – it starts and then stops a few minutes later with no indication as to why it is stopping. There is no indication of what is wrong, and there is precious little adjustment so I basically have a useless backup system.

About nine months ago I would really like to have recovered a file that got mangled. TIH had been working. I knew because I had tested it a few weeks earlier. But when I came to look for the file, there was absolutely nothing there. On another occasion, it did not seem to have the latest change in the latest backup, though it certainly had files backed up. Very odd. Hence my use of the word "temperamental".

I agree with another poster's comments that the associated tools are unnecessary add-ons. I also agree with another poster's comments that the upgrade from TIH 2011 to TIH 2012 changed the interface for the worse. It was easier to use in 2011, and told you more about what is going on.

Acronis need to work on the usability of the product, the help files, and the feedback given by the software.

Backup systems have to be absolutely reliable, and this product is clearly not. So I am another who does not recommend buying this product.

I am a long-time subscriber to PC pro. I am disappointed at what looks to be a superficial assessment for a backup system.

By iloct03 on 19 Jul 2012

Naff Acronis

We used ATI 2009 but found it no good for backing up our data files. On reviewing the A List I am astounded that soo many people have had a "bad experiences" I am looking at replacing our current software - but would now not use ATI after the comments above.

By stephen_elms on 3 Oct 2012

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Apple OS X Yosemite review

Apple OS X Yosemite

Category: Software
Rating: Preview out of 6
Price: £0
Netgear ProSafe WC7600 review

Netgear ProSafe WC7600

Category: Switches
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £1,404
Symantec Backup Exec 2014 review

Symantec Backup Exec 2014

Category: Software
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £540
Adobe Photoshop Elements 13 review

Adobe Photoshop Elements 13

Category: Software
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £66

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.