Skip to navigation

Leap Motion Controller review

Verdict

An appallingly inaccurate gesture controller that makes us want to throw our hands up in the air, not towards the PC

Review Date: 14 Aug 2013

Reviewed By: Barry Collins

Price when reviewed: £58 (£70 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
1 stars out of 6

Features & Design
1 stars out of 6

Value for Money
1 stars out of 6

Performance
1 stars out of 6

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

The mistake most people make when first using a Leap Motion is to try and use the screen as a touch screen, moving your entire hand to where you want to go. If you instead use it where you keep your hand within a roughly 30cm box over the controller and point to where you want to navigate it suddenly becomes much easier to use and control apps and Windows itself. I think this review is unnecessarily harsh, perhaps the reviewer should try again but this time use it as I've suggested above, I think you'll be surprised how much more intuitive it suddenly becomes.

By skarlock on 15 Aug 2013

Leap Motion

The controller should have been places just in front of the keyboard and the lights are bright.

And the guys reviewing it, seriously? They look like they could hardly operate a coffee machine let alone something that requires spacial intuitive motion recognition.

This was a KicKstarter project which means it takes time to develop and raise funds. I find it offensive that they could make a negative quip or swipe at the process without explanation?

The Leap Motion device is not perfect but the process will result in a great device. It needs work and with many people now using, testing, pushing the limits and developing the device is well on its way to success.

But this review was poorly executed, poorly researched and terribly presented.

By BuddMargolis on 15 Aug 2013

Feeedback

We tried the controller in a variety of positions (not only those shown in the brief video), on both desktop and laptops, and the experience didn't improve.

Likewise, we tried a variety of control methods, from the gentle, controlled motions @Skarlock recommends, to full sweeps. None provided a satisfactory experience.

At least three of us in the office tried the device, so our experience isn't based on the prejudices of one reviewer.

Barry Collins
Editor

By Barry_Collins on 15 Aug 2013

Certainly not prejudice

Well, doing a quick Google of other reviews for the product, it would suggest that pretty much everyone is prejudiced against it.

I'm also not sure why pointing out its Kickstart credentials should make it any better a product? I don't get the "many people now using, testing, pushing the limits and developing the device". They are not selling this as a beta device for developers but as a finished end product for consumers.

By DArtiss on 15 Aug 2013

Yes, it is possible

Yes, it is possible to control your computer with this. It's also possible to play a scale on a piano with a rubber hand on the end of a fishing rod. Maybe the software will improve.

By kennapier on 15 Aug 2013

Chimpanzee arm?

Glad to hear there is something worse than trying to operate Windows on a touch screen.

By milliganp on 15 Aug 2013

Prejudiced?

"doing a quick Google of other reviews for the product, it would suggest that pretty much everyone is prejudiced against it."

Prejudiced means biased, bigoted. Usually when a product receives universally bad reviews it means just one thing - that the product is crap.

By PaulOckenden on 16 Aug 2013

Be Optimistic

A solution in search of a problem?
A product who's time has not yet come, or to parrot Oscar Wilde on America "It will be great when they finish it".
Could we now get a review of Personify, another product where the website implies a lot more than it seems to do?

By milliganp on 16 Aug 2013

User accounts

My experience was that installation didn't work from an ordinary user account. Uninstalling and reinstalling using an administrator account worked.
Still no proper XP support though.
There was also excessive processor utilization.

By tirons1 on 19 Aug 2013

Google Earth unusable

I ordered one last year and got it on day one. The sensor is very fussy and complains about the wrong light levels. Google earth takes on a new, infuriating dimension by spinning more than an MP at full tilt and the touch screen interface for Windows never starts up.

It might have been a kickstarter project but I think it is a year ahead of its time and especially with the Windows Kinect officially MIA, I would leave touch screens to tablets (look at Apple!)

By mark_scott_mcse on 23 Aug 2013

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Motorola Moto X (2014) review

Motorola Moto X (2014)

Category: Smartphones
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £350
Sony Xperia Z3 Compact review

Sony Xperia Z3 Compact

Category: Smartphones
Rating: 6 out of 6
Price: £348
HP OfficeJet Pro 8620 review

HP OfficeJet Pro 8620

Category: Printers
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £222
Samsung Galaxy Alpha review

Samsung Galaxy Alpha

Category: Smartphones
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £550
BlackBerry Passport review

BlackBerry Passport

Category: Smartphones
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £529

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.