Skip to navigation

Iiyama ProLite E2710HDSD review

Iiyama ProLite E2710HDSD

Verdict

A big display for sensible money and good image quality to boot: a great budget monitor

Review Date: 27 Sep 2010

Reviewed By: Sasha Muller

Price when reviewed: £200 (£235 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
4 stars out of 6

Value for Money
6 stars out of 6

Image Quality
4 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

Heave the Iiyama from its packaging and its budget heritage is obvious. Cheap-feeling plastics abound, and the wobbly stand doesn’t inspire a great deal of confidence.

Delta E

Delta E is a figure that represents the difference between the desired colour and the colour displayed onscreen. Below 1.0 is indistinguishable to the human eye; an experienced viewer may notice differences around 3-4. We measure Delta E with a colorimeter before and after calibration.

You’re unlikely to find yourself any more impressed by the OSD. There’s nothing wrong with the range of options, but the controls on the display’s edge are horribly fiddly.

It’s just as well, then, you won’t have to do much fiddling to get the E2710HDSD looking its best. The worst you can say about it is the brightness is set far too high by default. Clocking up 370cd/m2 brightness is impressive, but you’ll want to dial it down for comfort’s sake.

It’s surprisingly capable when it comes to image quality, though. In our technical tests, and with no adjustment at all, it achieved an average Delta E colour difference score of only 2.1, which is very impressive indeed.

Iiyama ProLite E2710HDSD

Our subjective tests confirmed this. Colours were fairly neutral, with only a slight yellowish tinge evident across our test images, and good black levels rounded things off. It struggled to decipher the myriad vibrant shades of green and blue in our Blu-ray of Avatar, but it still fared better than most budget monitors equipped with TN panels.

Turn your attention to games and you’ll find the Iiyama is equally impressive. There’s no smearing and the average input lag of 24ms is pleasingly low. In fact, the only let-down is an ugly halo of backlight bleed along the panel’s top edge.

The features list is nothing out of the ordinary. There are single DVI and D-SUB inputs at the rear, a feeble pair of speakers, and a two-port USB hub.

But for only £200 exc VAT, the Iiyama ProLite E2710HDSD is a bargain. The combination of its large size, good image quality and a handful of useful features make it a worthy award winner.

Author: Sasha Muller

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

What's the point of a 27" screen?

This screen has the same resolution, 1920x1080, as most 22" wide-screens.
Are bigger pixels an improvement?

By JohnGray7581 on 29 Sep 2010

Very droll, John.

For movies and games a larger panel is much more immersive.

And, also, those with less than perfect eyesight may welcome the larger pixels.

Of course, if you just want the most pixels for your money, a 22in 1080P screen is substantially cheaper...

By SashaMuller on 29 Sep 2010

Need more pixels!

I do a lot of Photo editing, and what I really want is more pixels! Only Apple seem to understand the need, but their 27" monitor is ridiculously expensive.

By DJ2003 on 30 Sep 2010

Long of Tooth Short of Eye

I'm just drifting into the Reading Glasses need, will these really assist?
Trio

By TrioJay on 30 Sep 2010

^^

Do we have a "crossed line" here? ;-)

Big pixels are much better for ease of use and processing speed.

Small pixels for good detail.

I still prefer working on two 20" 1600 x 1200px Dell Ultrasharps. I find it better for multi-program operations such as FTP - EMAIL - Programming loop

Or the Bridge - Illustrator - Photoshop loop during design time.

The nice thing about the Dell's is rotating them tall ways for in depth Photoshopping of portraits. ;-)

By Gindylow on 30 Sep 2010

Aspect ratio

My problems with this monitor are that it's yet another screen which follows the horrible 16:9 aspect ratio. Sorry, but 16:9 is just too narrow for comfortable working. I have a 27" screen at home, but it's a 16:10 screen. Those extra 120 vertical pixels make a massive difference to just how space friendly the screen is to use on a daily basis.

16:9 though is a crap aspect ratio for a monitor, unless you're only ever going to use it for games and films.

By Trippynet on 30 Sep 2010

Resolutions over 20"

^^ I agree about the aspect ratio, but also there are lots of Widescreens that are only 768 or 1024 vertical, a woeful resolution, especially above 20". So maybe they're OK for movies and some games, but I read lots of web pages and documents, and they run vertically. Please PCPRO, run a review of 1900x1200 screens - a great working resolution - as this is what people will be buying in the near future, and many want to buy now.

By Wilbert3 on 3 Oct 2010

SageDesign

WHY are we all supposed to spend all our time watching video on PCs? I want pixels, so that I can read a full web page, document or program listing without excessive scrolling. Watching video seems like a manufacturers excuse to sell inferior panels with a reduced pixel count. I would love a 27" monitor, but I want at least 1920 x 1200 pixels, preferably more!

By SageDesign on 4 Oct 2010

Bigger pixels

Bigger pixels are great for people whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. They can put the monitor close to see everything larger, or right at the back of the desk if their trouble is close-up focussing.

By nrarnot2 on 14 Oct 2010

Pixels are the issue

Manufacturers are producing laptops with x800 high screens just x32 pixels more than x768 of 10 years ago!

Why because manufacturing has gone widescreen however Word documents and websites are not widescreen so the form factor does not match the application.

To buy a laptop with x1200 resolution is now incredibly hard when you were able to pickup non widescreen versions only 3 or 4 years ago.

I wish PC Pro would stop rating based on what games users want and look at what "pro" users want which is clear high resolutions.

By lmindel on 21 Oct 2010

I would not be without a 1900X1200 screen. Dell 245B. Great detail good for movies and working with spreadsheets, documents etc.

Even my laptop is 1900X1200 and it is 4 years old... Are we going backwards or something here?

By Kevin000 on 22 Oct 2010

If you want 1920 x 1200....

..then go read the review of Iiyama's other monitor, the 16:10 ratio E2607WS:

http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/monitors/361663/iiy
ama-prolite-e2607ws

At this price, you won't get resolutions higher than 1920 x 1200. If you want more, then you'll need to spend four times as much!

By SashaMuller on 22 Oct 2010

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Monitors Reviews
Eizo ColorEdge CX241 review

Eizo ColorEdge CX241

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £984
Acer K272HUL review

Acer K272HUL

Category: Monitors
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £364
AOC q2770Pqu review

AOC q2770Pqu

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £360
NEC MultiSync EA244UHD review

NEC MultiSync EA244UHD

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £1,295
NEC MultiSync PA272W review

NEC MultiSync PA272W

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £984
Compare reviews: Monitors

advertisement

Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.