Skip to navigation

Dell UltraSharp U2410 review

Verdict

Simple design, a plethora of ports and a fantastic panel make an attractive compromise for professionals

Review Date: 1 Dec 2009

Reviewed By: David Bayon

Price when reviewed: £382 (£439 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
6 stars out of 6

Value for Money
4 stars out of 6

Image Quality
6 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

Above the usual TN panels but short of our top-end Eizo and LaCie favourites sits an intriguing middle-ground of professional monitors. It can't match S-PVA, but the H-IPS panel type allows for a higher contrast ratio than standard IPS TFTs, as evidenced by the slightly silly 80,000:1 dynamic ratio on offer here. But even without such gimmicky figures, the 24in Dell UltraSharp U2410 looks hugely appealing.

It's an understated matte black design with a sturdy stand that pivots to portrait mode, swivels through 45 degrees in either direction and lifts through 100mm to suit any desk. The bezel is just 19mm on all sides, and the square base gives it a professional look – the four USB ports and a media card reader add to the all-round appeal.

Dell UltraSharp U2410

The Dell comes well prepared. It has two DVI ports, D-SUB and DisplayPort – with cables in the box for all three – as well as HDMI, composite and component inputs. There's a 3.5mm output for passing through audio from an HDMI source, but there are no integrated speakers - an optional 10W sound bar will set you back £20 exc VAT, with dearer bars available offering Virtual Surround. All in all it's an elegant design that should blend into most environments.

But it's that 1,920 x 1,200 panel that interests most, particularly as the U2410 retails at just £382 exc VAT – significantly cheaper than the recent S-PVA-based Eizo FlexScan S2432W. To see if that premium over the average £200 TN panel is worth paying, we put the Dell through our tests using the Standard preset mode and a mid-level brightness. The Dell goes blindingly bright – it's rated at 400cd/m2 – but for comfort we found 50% or so to be the ideal compromise. Besides, an idle power draw of 63W shoots up to 97W at maximum brightness.

In DisplayMate we found few weaknesses: the black level wasn't quite as deep as the Eizo, and the overall tone very slightly pinkish – although that warmth works better with entertainment than accurate colour work. But all other tests produced flawless results, with smooth gradients, perfect colour-on-colour performance and a good dynamic range.

Our 1080p test videos looked stunning, and we saw no evidence of ghosting or blurring that so often plagues these professional TFTs in fast motion tests. The only other issue is the slightly mottled finish to the screen that’s common with this kind of panel, but we soon stopped noticing that at all.

Add in the motion-sensing touch controls and Dell's simply superb menu system – which others would do well to imitate – and you have a fantastic all-round monitor. It's expensive, but if you require colour accuracy at a less-than astronomical price, the UltraSharp U2410 is a good compromise.

Author: David Bayon

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

How is this monitor for gaming

How good is this monitor for PC gaming.

By dipen2 on 3 Dec 2009

Is it actually possible to find this monitor at this price?

Is there a Dell E-value code in this review that I've missed? Searching on the Dell UK website I can only find the U2410 for £574 (4 Dec).

http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sna/productdetail
.aspx?c=uk&l=en&s=dhs&cs=ukdhs1&sku=294438

By dwaller on 4 Dec 2009

Don't buy it from Dell

@dwaller Prices are much lower elsewhere, take your pick:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172798

http://www.cclonline.com/product-info.asp?product_
id=35945&tid=frooct

http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductID=10
65532&source=froogle

@dipen2 as for gaming, it's decent enough but don't expect it to be as smooth as the fastest cheaper TFTs. We didn't notice any blurring in our game tests, but it is more of a professional monitor than one for gamers.

By DavidBayon on 4 Dec 2009

Clarification please

"...the black level wasn't quite as deep as the Eizo, and the overall tone very slightly pinkish – although that warmth works better with entertainment than accurate colour work. But all other tests produced flawless results, with smooth gradients, perfect colour-on-colour performance and a good dynamic range.

I'm confused. You say that it has a colour cast but also has perfect 'colour performance'.

Isn't this something of a contradiction?

By CliveDH on 4 Dec 2009

@CliveDH It was perfect colour-on-colour performance, specifically. We have tests that check how cleanly different colours display over others - text on background, things like that. It's less about the actual colours, more about the ability to display contrasting tones side-by-side without them affecting each other.

This is entirely separate to the actual colour accuracy tests. Apologies if that wasn't clear enough in the review.

By DavidBayon on 4 Dec 2009

24 inch monitor for Gaming and general use

If the Dell U2410 monitor is not good for gaming, then can someone recommend a good 24 inch monitor for gaming and general use as I am looking to buy a monitor ASAP

By dipen2 on 4 Dec 2009

But is it good enough for photo editing?

As an avid reader of your printed mag and on-line newsletters and also into digital photography. I don't understand why you haven't made a feature on monitors (and printers) for photo editing. You cover cameras, editing apps, but have fallen short on the monitors and printers for amateur photographers. We're not all gamers you know?

By richardroy1 on 6 Dec 2009

Some examples have colour issues

A friend of mine bought one recently and had to return it because of the colour issues he had. His example had green/pink tint issues (the left side of the screen wss green-ish, and the right side of the screen was pink-ish). There are plenty of complaints here on Dell's own forums:

http://en.community.dell.com/Search/SearchResults.
aspx?q=green+pink

Seems like these screens are a bit of a lottery!

By pinball_wizard on 7 Dec 2009

You've reviewed a dud product

Having read that Dell forum this is clearly a dud product. Either you got lucky or Dell supplied you with one that works. (mostly). I'm afraid I'm not tempted.

By scoobie on 8 Dec 2009

Colour Calibration

I bought one of these for photo editing but have been a bit disappointed. The factory calibration was the main selling point but this only applies to the sRGB and AdobeRGB preset modes. The default standard colour mode is miles out. The measured gamma is around 1.5 giving a rather washed out look with shadows too light and highlights saturated. Trouble is if you correct this in the graphics card, the other modes are then wrong. The calibrated modes do seem about right if a bit clinical. As noted the default standard mode is a bit warmer than custom mode with all default settings but custom mode is the only one that can be adjusted on the monitor. I'm still fiddling with this but haven't got it quite right yet. Otherwise it's OK, I don't have the pink - green tint problem and there are no dead pixels. It's 1920 X 1200 too - not 1080. This is better for photos, a 3:2 format looks OK at full screen. I can't help feeling that I might have been better off with a £200 TN panel monitor though.

By Roddy on 26 Jan 2010

Make sure you get the latest model.

I believe that there are two versions of this monitor. An 000 and an 001.
The first version is purported to be a bit of a dud, so make sure you get the 001 model. It has fixed most of the shortcomings.

Aria and Amazon also have this in stock at competitive prices (£440 - £460). Scan also have keen prices, but they have no stock at this time (early November 2010).

By pjajennings on 4 Nov 2010

DELL NO MORE!!!

I bought this monitor based on the reviews and regret since then. About a half a year after the purchase I started seeing barely visible weaves moving from top to the button of the screen. The longer I worked with monitor more visible these waves were getting. In the beginning I wasn't paying attention to this since weaves were barely visible, but view months later I started noticing that my eyes are getting tired after the more I work with the monitor. I called Dell, the told me to update drivers. I did, noting changed. I called again and was asked to try the monitor with another computer. I did, noting changed. Next time they told me to buy another cable and try again. I did, nothing changed. I called again and finally they agreed to replace it.

Replacement itself is a separate story. In Netherlands they deliver it with UPS, which delivers goods between 9am and 5 pm on working days. On the first day they deliver a new one and on the second day they pick up the old one. In other words you need to be available at indicated address 2 days in a row. If UPS is not able to pick up the old one, the Dell charges you the full price. In my case I had to change the pick up address, it wasn't possible neither by UPS nor Dell. UPS told that only Dell can request the address change, while Dell told that the address change is not any more possible.

The replaced monitor worked fine for the first three months. Afterwards, I started sometimes noticing the same transparent weaves, but after some time the monitor died because of another reason. When I was connecting it to the laptop the image on the monitor was appearing for a fraction of a second and immediately disappearing. I saw nothing more but black screen, even though the the power button glowing blue indicating that the monitor is active.

I called Dell reporting the problem. This time without much of a resistance they agreed to replace it. But, now I had to face the UPS, plan two day for delivery and pick up and run the risk of being charged for the old monitor that could not be picked up.

BTW: The image brightness is very very low. When you work with the monitor you look at very dark image and you have it with the max brightness set through the settings.

By ameremortal on 3 Oct 2012

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Acer K272HUL review

Acer K272HUL

Category: Monitors
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £364
AOC q2770Pqu review

AOC q2770Pqu

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £360
NEC MultiSync EA244UHD review

NEC MultiSync EA244UHD

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £1,295
NEC MultiSync PA272W review

NEC MultiSync PA272W

Category: Monitors
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £984
Eizo ColorEdge CG277 review

Eizo ColorEdge CG277

Category: Monitors
Rating: 6 out of 6
Price: £1,559
Compare reviews: Monitors

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.