Skip to navigation

Dell Venue 11 Pro review

Verdict

Dell's Venue 11 Pro is a tablet to be reckoned with – but the accessories don't come cheap

Review Date: 20 Dec 2013

Reviewed By: Sasha Muller

Price when reviewed: £339 (£407 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
5 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
4 stars out of 6

PCPRO A-List

Details
Part Code Venue 11 Pro
Review Date 20 Dec 2013
Price ex VAT £339
Price inc VAT £407
Overall rating 5 stars out of 6
Features & Design 5 stars out of 6
Value for Money 5 stars out of 6
Performance 4 stars out of 6
Warranty
Warranty 1yr collect and return
Physical specifications
Dimensions 298 x 177 x 11mm (WDH)
Weight 760g
Travelling weight 1.4kg
Processor and memory
Processor Intel Atom Z3770
RAM capacity 2.00GB
Memory type DDR3
Screen and video
Screen size 10.8in
Resolution screen horizontal 1,920
Resolution screen vertical 1,080
Resolution 1920 x 1080
Graphics chipset Intel HD Graphics
HDMI outputs 1
Drives
Capacity 256GB
Replacement battery price inc VAT £0
Networking
802.11 draft-n support yes
Bluetooth support yes
Other Features
3.5mm audio jacks 1
SD card reader yes
Camera megapixel rating 8.0mp
Operating system and software
Operating system Windows 8.1 32-bit
OS family Windows 8
Battery and performance tests
Battery life, light use 10hr 25min
Overall Real World Benchmark score 0.38
Responsiveness score 0.48
Media score 0.38
Multitasking score 0.28
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

The active stylus makes this look interesting. I have the T100 and it is frustrating to try to take notes with a stylus on it. The Dell is pricier and heavier, but still looks very good value given the better spec - full hd, 64Gb. Hopefully, the accessories may come down in price or get bundled into a deal.

By mypointis on 20 Dec 2013

Had one since came out December 8th and very pleased with it. Excellent choice of touch on screen keyboards and very quick and responsive, even our old DOS programs.

By cthompsonmcs on 23 Dec 2013

Note Taking

Does anyone know whether the Venue 11 Pro recognises hand written notes as well as the Surface Pro 2. PCPRo Review doesn't mention it in this review but it does mention it in the Surface Pro Review. Happy Christmass

By clerknholyo on 24 Dec 2013

Probably

because the Surface Pro 2 comes with a pen and the Venue doesn't.

That said, I have a Samsung ATIV tablet and the handwriting recognition is excellent, even if the included pen is a little on the sort side.

By big_D on 27 Dec 2013

Accessories

I can only comment on these as I've got the accessories but not the tablet yet! I've specified the highest spec Core i5 version with mobile/3G so I think they've had delivery delays on these.

I have to say that even though the additional dock, keyboard etc are quite expensive they I'm very impressed with the quality. The docking station is very well made, cast metal. So impressed so far!

By jonathand on 7 Jan 2014

Excellent Tablet

I have had a Venue 11 since just before Christmas and it is an excellent tablet. I have the Core i5 which is a tablet/laptop/desktop replacement since it has a USB port and HDMI output. It is an excellent machine, but unfortunately has developed a hardware fault. Dell immediately offered to replace it, so now I have to wait a while before I can turn the Apple fanboys green with envy.

By markwh3 on 14 Jan 2014

Excellent Tablet

I have had a Venue 11 since just before Christmas and it is an excellent tablet. I have the Core i5 which is a tablet/laptop/desktop replacement since it has a USB port and HDMI output. It is an excellent machine, but unfortunately has developed a hardware fault. Dell immediately offered to replace it, so now I have to wait a while before I can turn the Apple fanboys green with envy.

By markwh3 on 14 Jan 2014

Great performance and 3/4G too!

Been using mine (Core i5 with mobile broadband) as a desktop replacement for a few weeks, and its excellent. It definitely does it all and mobile on EE is seemingly better than it was on my iPad.

I'd be interested in a review of the higher end models and to see benchmarks. Its seems good enough to me for normal office use, including Photoshop types duties.

I just need to try the other keyboard and get a pen too now to see how those work out.

By jonathand on 23 Jan 2014

Screen size?

11.6" according to the podcast. Pleasantly surprised they haven't rounded the model name up.

By Mark_Thompson on 2 Feb 2014

Unusable product

I purchased a Venue 11 Pro for my wife along with the portable keyboard and a docking station. I wanted her to be able to have a portable tablet for email, simple games, and e-reading that could also function as computer for word documents, powerpoint, etc. The Venue sounded like a good choice. But we have had the freezing problems discussed here
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/mobile
-devices/f/4586/t/19535987.aspx?pi239031352=1#2050
8724
They are so bad it makes the tablet unusuable. Sometimes it pauses, with the machine clearly operable but with the application or photo or whatever taking 30 seconds or longer to load. My criteria is that it should work as well as my phone and it doesn't come close. Other times it freezes completely. The battery drains overnight. They keyboard does not always function. We are not always able to log in even. First I thought it was us not being familiar with Windows 8 and my wife not being technical. Then I worked with Dell support and did a Reset (wiped it clean). No luck. Then I asked for a refund - too late. Then I asked for a replacement - too late. Then I asked for a repair - no spare parts so they won't even try it. No chance I will ever buy a Dell product again.

By HammerinHank on 20 Feb 2014

Unusable product

I purchased a Venue 11 Pro for my wife along with the portable keyboard and a docking station. I wanted her to be able to have a portable tablet for email, simple games, and e-reading that could also function as computer for word documents, powerpoint, etc. The Venue sounded like a good choice. But we have had the freezing problems discussed here
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/mobile
-devices/f/4586/t/19535987.aspx?pi239031352=1#2050
8724
They are so bad it makes the tablet unusuable. Sometimes it pauses, with the machine clearly operable but with the application or photo or whatever taking 30 seconds or longer to load. My criteria is that it should work as well as my phone and it doesn't come close. Other times it freezes completely. The battery drains overnight. They keyboard does not always function. We are not always able to log in even. First I thought it was us not being familiar with Windows 8 and my wife not being technical. Then I worked with Dell support and did a Reset (wiped it clean). No luck. Then I asked for a refund - too late. Then I asked for a replacement - too late. Then I asked for a repair - no spare parts so they won't even try it. No chance I will ever buy a Dell product again.

By HammerinHank on 20 Feb 2014

Unusable product

I purchased a Venue 11 Pro for my wife along with the portable keyboard and a docking station. I wanted her to be able to have a portable tablet for email, simple games, and e-reading that could also function as computer for word documents, powerpoint, etc. The Venue sounded like a good choice. But we have had the freezing problems discussed here
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/mobile
-devices/f/4586/t/19535987.aspx?pi239031352=1#2050
8724
They are so bad it makes the tablet unusuable. Sometimes it pauses, with the machine clearly operable but with the application or photo or whatever taking 30 seconds or longer to load. My criteria is that it should work as well as my phone and it doesn't come close. Other times it freezes completely. The battery drains overnight. They keyboard does not always function. We are not always able to log in even. First I thought it was us not being familiar with Windows 8 and my wife not being technical. Then I worked with Dell support and did a Reset (wiped it clean). No luck. Then I asked for a refund - too late. Then I asked for a replacement - too late. Then I asked for a repair - no spare parts so they won't even try it. No chance I will ever buy a Dell product again.

By HammerinHank on 20 Feb 2014

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
HP Envy 15 x360 review

HP Envy 15 x360

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £649
Lenovo Miix 2 11in review

Lenovo Miix 2 11in

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Hands on: Dell Venue 8 7000 series review

Hands on: Dell Venue 8 7000 series

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Asus Eeebook X205 hands on review

Asus Eeebook X205 hands on

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.