Skip to navigation

Acer Aspire 5750G review

Verdict

Hardly stylish, but strong in applications and games, and lasts six hours on one charge - the ideal all-round low-cost laptop

Review Date: 26 Jun 2012

Reviewed By: David Bayon

Price when reviewed: £358 (£430 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
5 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
5 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

With so many lithe and lovely Ultrabooks making their way through PC Pro's Labs, the dull grey of Acer's Aspire 5750G is enough to send anyone crashing back to earth. What Acer's budget 15.6in laptop lacks in looks, however, it more than makes up for with a generous specification: with a Core i3 CPU and a dedicated Nvidia graphics chipset, this £430 Acer crams in a huge amount for the money.

It's a solid, sturdy laptop with a drab, mottled-grey interior and darker grey lid, broken up by a wash of glossy black around the screen and hinge. The large keyboard has well-spaced keys and a solid base beneath its flat-headed keys, and there's a numeric keypad, too. The touchpad is quite small, and the rocker-style buttons feel muffled when clicked, but on the whole it's a comfortable laptop to use for long periods.

Acer Aspire 5750G - keyboard

Those periods won't be as long as the best here, but a light-use battery life of 6hrs 9mins is still exceedingly good. That's due, in the main, to Nvidia's Optimus technology, which automatically switches to the low-power graphics when appropriate. For more intensive tasks, the discrete Nvidia GeForce GT 540M chip roars into life. In the Crysis test at Medium quality settings, the Acer managed an impressive average of 36fps. It will comfortably play the many less demanding games released since Crysis first arrived to torment graphics cards.

The rest of the specification is perfectly acceptable budget fare. The 2.1GHz Core i3-2310M and 6GB of RAM are powerful enough to earn the Acer a result of 0.55 in our Real World benchmarks, and the 640GB hard disk is a welcome sight, too.

The 15.6in 1,366 x 768 screen is impressively bright, with a maximum brightness level of 261cd/m2 putting it well ahead of most budget laptops. Contrast still isn't particularly strong - the 196:1 contrast ratio is merely average - but colours are pretty accurate and the glossy finish doesn't prove too reflective under normal usage.

Acer Aspire 5750G - front

Connectivity is ample. There's one USB 3 port on the right edge, and two further USB 2 ports. It has both D-SUB and HDMI outputs on the left-edge. There's a card reader for all the major formats - including the less common xD-picture - on the tapered front edge, and there's a 1.3-megapixel webcam embedded into the display's bezel. Bluetooth is the only major omission.

This Acer doesn't have the fastest processor, and it's battery life isn't quite as good as the very best we've seen. But, for just £430, we'd gladly swap finesse and a little stamina for an almost perfect all-rounder. It isn't flashy in the slightest, but at this price, the Acer Aspire 5750G makes itself worthy of a place on the PC Pro A-List.

Author: David Bayon

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Price: 540?

I'm confused, did the price increase by 25% in two days?

By mikes87 on 28 Jun 2012

That's inflation for you!

By Bassey1976 on 28 Jun 2012

It's on special offer

saveonlaptops.co.uk have it at £430, I suspect it's a timing issue as prices drop.

By milliganp on 28 Jun 2012

What about the support?!

I was just looking at your A-list Budget laptop section reviews as a friend of mine is looking to buy a laptop... and almost spat out my coffee!

I cannot believe Acer are at the top of the list, given what AWFUL build-quality their laptops are!!

This friend of mine has a £800 Acer laptop which is failing (it's not even 3 years old yet!). It was supposed to be a top-of-the range at the time, but the backlight is failing on the screen and the Blu-ray player doesn't work anymore. Acer have refused to do anything about the Blu-ray, claiming it's not their fault if their updates stop the device working in the first place.

And oddly enough, Acer really DOESN'T want to know (strange that)! Their support is dire at the best of times and now we're left with an £800 lemon that's about to pack in.

Very VERY unimpressed with their products and service - I will not be touching them again, bargepole or otherwise.

Anyone else got any similar stories...?

BTW I can contrast this with my partner's 6-year old Sony Vaio which he bought for £600-£700. About 2 years ago it started overheating and then finally died. I called up Sony Support and they said "Oh yes, it's a known problem - please send it in and we'll replace the motherboard"... And this is after 4 years! I was very impressed and now that laptop has a new lease of life!

Acer please take note - this is very poor indeed.

By mrmmm on 19 Jul 2012

To mrmmm

I am very curious about your partners Sony experience. Mine is (was) 4 yrs old and has just died. What process did you go through to get a repair?

By Kdk12 on 21 Jul 2012

No product!

11.35 on 8 Sep 2012 and ebuyer can not find the product, despite using the product code given in the mag (LX.RXL102.060) or searching using the product description.
Any one for shark fishing?

By nbrend on 8 Sep 2012

Still No product!

Still nothing when using the product code given under the Specs tab [LX.RAZ02.136] of the on-line version, which differs from th eprint version. Guess I'll have to investigate the alternatives.

By nbrend on 8 Sep 2012

Not available - alternative please!

This is not available anywhere now - a new recommendation is needed for this category so as to buy one for a Christams present! Help please PCPro or anyone else!

By kismetk on 18 Nov 2012

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
HP Envy 15 x360 review

HP Envy 15 x360

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £649
Lenovo Miix 2 11in review

Lenovo Miix 2 11in

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Hands on: Dell Venue 8 7000 series review

Hands on: Dell Venue 8 7000 series

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Asus Eeebook X205 hands on review

Asus Eeebook X205 hands on

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.