Skip to navigation

Toshiba Portégé R700 review

Toshiba Portégé R700

Verdict

A powerful laptop that's as light as a netbook, the R700 is well suited to demanding tasks

Review Date: 4 Feb 2011

Reviewed By: Tim Danton

Price when reviewed: £511 (£613 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
5 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
4 stars out of 6

Details
Part Code PT310E-06902JEN
Review Date 4 Feb 2011
Price ex VAT £511
Price inc VAT £613
Overall rating 5 stars out of 6
Features & Design 5 stars out of 6
Value for Money 5 stars out of 6
Performance 4 stars out of 6
Warranty
Warranty 1 yr return to base
Physical specifications
Weight 1.290kg
Processor and memory
Processor Intel Core i3-350M
RAM capacity 2.00GB
Memory type DDR3
Screen and video
Screen size 13.3in
Resolution screen horizontal 1,366
Resolution screen vertical 768
Resolution 1366 x 768
Graphics chipset Intel HD Graphics
VGA (D-SUB) outputs 1
HDMI outputs 1
Drives
Optical disc technology DVD writer
Replacement battery price inc VAT £0
Networking
Wired adapter speed 1,000Mbits/sec
802.11b support yes
802.11g support yes
802.11 draft-n support yes
Bluetooth support yes
Other Features
USB ports (downstream) 2
SD card reader yes
MMC (multimedia card) reader yes
Pointing device type Touchpad
Integrated microphone? yes
Integrated webcam? yes
Camera megapixel rating 0.3mp
Operating system and software
Operating system Windows 7 Professional 32-bit
OS family Windows 7
Battery and performance tests
Battery life, light use 8hr 17min
Overall application benchmark score 1.20
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

I looked at this and the Sony S13 but bought the Toshiba R630-141. I have had this now for 3 weeks and it is lightweight, easy to use and the battery lasts a long time. With light use it goes from 9am to around 5.30pm before I have to plug it in.
The only differences between this and the Portege seems to be the docking port and the 3 year warranty. However, the build is the same and one can get a much higher spec R for a much lower price than the Portege. The R630-141 can be bought for £617 ex vat and the upgrade to 3 year warranty is £30-odd (the same as the portege comes with) or £120 for the on site next day, which is what I paid to Toshiba. The i5 Portege in April 11 issue is £925 ex vat so IMHO the R630 seems a much better buy.
Some of the -points mentioned in the review are correct but overall it is an excellent light weight machine which can be used all day long comfortably.

By Zippy204 on 7 Feb 2011

We have just got in the R700-185 which is the Core i7 and SSD model. It is very fast. Though Toshiba still insist on partitioning their drives down the middle. My other gripe is that despite having 64bit hardware and 4GB of RAM, they stuck 32bit Windows on there.

By james016 on 7 Feb 2011

Yeah, the business models (R700) get 32bit windows, whereas the consumer version get 64bit. Guess businesses prefer 32bit for some reason.

R630 is an amazing laptop.

Same weight as a Mac Book Air, half the price and much more power!

By Grunthos on 7 Feb 2011

"Same weight as a Mac Book Air, half the price and much more power!"

Yes but the Mac Book Air does have the Apple badge on it. That must be worth an extra 500 quid on its own.

By Lacrobat on 7 Feb 2011

To be fair, the price difference is probably because of 256gb SSD in mac vs mechanical hdd in toshiba. Also higher resolution screen ups the price considerably as well (sony vaio is good example).

Lol, never thought I'm going defend apple products :-)

By Lomskij on 7 Feb 2011

@Lacrobat - Of course! What was I thinking?! :)

@Lomskij - Fair point but neither of those features are worth the extra money in my eyes. (Sony add a premium for their name just like Apple).

By Grunthos on 8 Feb 2011

@ Zippy204

Where did you buy the Toshiba R630-141 from im thinking of getting one now!!

By pchealer on 8 Feb 2011

@ Zippy204

Where did you buy the Toshiba R630-141 from im thinking of getting one now!!

By pchealer on 8 Feb 2011

Use in a primary school

I have been using a fleet of these in a primary school for several months now. Delighted with them. Light, strong and quick, with great battery life (enough to last a whole school day) and excellent 802.11n wireless capability. The R700 was worth the premium over the R630 for two reasons: Windows 7 Pro instead of Home Premium (essential for use on a Windows domain) and the fact that it has a non-reflective screen. I also installed 64-bit Windows on every machine (the supplied licences are valid for 32 or 64-bit versions). The drivers were all available on Toshiba's website.

By faxon on 5 Mar 2011

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Toshiba AT300 review

Toshiba AT300

Category: Tablets
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £310
Samsung Series 5 550 Chromebook review

Samsung Series 5 550 Chromebook

Category: Laptops
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £365
Fujitsu Stylistic M532 review

Fujitsu Stylistic M532

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £440
Avantis LearnPad 2 review

Avantis LearnPad 2

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £239
Fujitsu Stylistic Q550 review

Fujitsu Stylistic Q550

Category: Tablets
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £562
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.