Skip to navigation

Asus Eee PC 1015PEM review

Asus Eee PC 1015PEM

Verdict

Asus shows its pedigree with a netbook that's stylish, usable, practical and affordable

Review Date: 13 Dec 2010

Reviewed By: Luke Sampson

Price when reviewed: £255 (£300 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
4 stars out of 6

Features & Design
5 stars out of 6

Value for Money
4 stars out of 6

Performance
2 stars out of 6

Asus kickstarted the whole netbook craze back in 2007, but it hasn't rested on its laurels since. Its netbooks have continued to impress, and the latest addition to the firm's Seashell range of netbooks is no exception.

The 1015PEM makes a very good first impression. Its curvy chassis has a clean, bright, white finish all over (aside from the black screen surround), and the whole thing looks elegant and expensive. It isn't the daintiest netbook, measuring a fairly chunky 36.5mm at its thickest point, and weighing 1.27kg, but build quality is solid; for us, it strikes a good balance between portability and hardiness.

The clean white finish extends to the Scrabble-tile keyboard, and while you'll have to work hard at keeping it clean, it's generally a pleasure to use. The keys feel comfortable under the hand and the touchpad is extremely responsive too. Even the addition of a rocker-style button doesn't detract from the usability, which is impressive given they're usually one of our pet peeves.

Asus Eee PC 1015PEM

Internally, the line-up of components is as you'd expect, with one of the latest Intel's 1.5GHz dual-core Atom N550 processors, and 1GB of DDR3 RAM on board. Applications run smoothly in Windows 7, and the addition of the dual-core technology means that it's noticeably more responsive when running multiple applications than a single-core Atom. The overall benchmark score of 0.42 indicates, however, there still isn't much raw power on tap.

There's plenty of storage, with a generous 250GB hard disk, and the 10.1in 1,024 x 600 matte-finish screen is bright and clear too, but it's the 1015PEM's range of connections that really stands out. There are two USB 3 ports (a first for netbooks) one USB 2 port, Bluetooth, Gigabit Ethernet and 802.11bgn Wi-Fi. Asus doesn't scrimp on the battery either, with a six-cell 5,200mAh battery in place, going for an impressive 9hrs 5mins in our light-use test.

It's hard to fault this stylish little netbook: it delivers on all fronts and it comes in a good price too. At £250 exc VAT, the Asus Eee PC 1015PEM is an excellent choice for anyone looking for style and performance without breaking the bank.

Author: Luke Sampson

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Star ratings?

There seems to be some inconsistency between the text and the star ratings. A few days ago "the worst product we've ever reviewed" rated one star, yet this product which "delivers on all fronts" only rates three? Some recalibration required?

By JohnAHind on 13 Dec 2010

Wrong prices

Prices shown (as at 13/12/10) relate to a Panasonic digicam, not to this item.

By fenlander on 13 Dec 2010

Perhaps...

"People who bought a Asus Eee PC 1015PEM also bought a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10"...

By JohnGray7581 on 13 Dec 2010

I don't get how the ratings are calculated

Aren't the star ratings based on a link-for-like basis? i.e. Surely you're comparing netbooks to other netbooks and not, say, a top-of-the-range desktop replacement laptop? In which case, surely the performance for this is actually really good (for a Netbook) and deserved more than 2 stars?

I'm assuming, instead, that you're not comparing like-for-like. But why compare netbooks to laptops - you don't compare tablets to laptops, or desktops to laptops?

By artiss on 14 Dec 2010

Scores

Sorry guys, just an error on our part (blame the PC Pro Christmas lunch). The correct scores are now attached.

By DavidBayon on 14 Dec 2010

Review Stars

How about a little mouse over indicator for the user or a link to a small piece of help text next to the star ratings. This could then be used to explain why this fine netbook get's two stars instead of 4 or 5 in it's field. These star ratings are overdue a review in any case as they're way out of date. For example, battery life is important for a Netbook, but no so for a desktop replacement, design and features are soooo different they should have separate ratings.

By CraigieDD on 14 Dec 2010

Eileanach28

I like the ASUS for general non fast work. However I cannot SKYPE with the Eee 1015PEM. It is too slow. Has anyone else encountered this?

By Eileanach28 on 10 Jun 2011

Good of a notebook , there is the battery


http://www.elecachat.fr/asus-eee-pc-1015pem.html

By pcpone on 22 May 2012

Asus Eee PC 1015PEM battery and Asus Eee PC 1015PEM charger parts for laptops.

http://www.cbattery.net/asus-eee-pc-1015pem.html Asus Eee PC 1015PEM battery,Asus Eee PC 1015PEM charger: factory Outlet, One Year Warranty, We offer wholesale and retail Asus Eee PC 1015PEM battery bussiness.

By briancope on 1 Dec 2012

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Toshiba AT300 review

Toshiba AT300

Category: Tablets
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £310
Samsung Series 5 550 Chromebook review

Samsung Series 5 550 Chromebook

Category: Laptops
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £365
Fujitsu Stylistic M532 review

Fujitsu Stylistic M532

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £440
Avantis LearnPad 2 review

Avantis LearnPad 2

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £239
Fujitsu Stylistic Q550 review

Fujitsu Stylistic Q550

Category: Tablets
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £562
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.