Skip to navigation

Acer Aspire TimelineX 5820T review

Verdict

All-day battery life, decent performance and great build quality make for the perfect all-rounder

Review Date: 4 Nov 2010

Reviewed By: David Bayon

Price when reviewed: £552 (£649 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
4 stars out of 6

Value for Money
6 stars out of 6

Performance
4 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

We've seen plenty of nine-hour ultraportables and a lot of 15.6in powerhouses, but few laptops can claim to come close to successfully combining the two.

Acer’s Aspire TimelineX 5820T has a 15.6in screen size, yet it’s far sleeker than you'd expect: the lid feels as thin as that of a tiny Sony VAIO, but it has the strength of a road-warrior. The hinge feels rock-solid, and the only give in the base is around the soft-grilled speakers.

Its real strength, however, is battery life. Under light-use conditions the 6,000mAh battery gave 9hrs 29mins of life. It’s helped by the absence of a power-hungry discrete graphics card, but for a 15.6in laptop it’s remarkable, and beyond what many ultraportables can manage on a single charge.

Acer Aspire TimelineX 5820T

Better still, it combines its all-day battery life with reasonable power. With a 2.13GHz Core i3-330M and 3GB of DDR3 RAM, our sample scored 1.23 in our benchmarks. This model is currently being upgraded to a 2.4GHz Core i3-370M (factored into the price at the top of the page), which in our experience should boost the score to around 1.40.

The laptop itself is a joy to use. The keyboard and number pad stretch the full width of the base, with only the cursor keys a little smaller than we’d like. The screen has a 1,366 x 768 resolution and a glossy coating, but the reflectivity is balanced by good brightness and a clean, balanced colour tone.

It has only a 320GB hard disk, but there’s a DVD writer along with four USB 2 ports, plus HDMI and D-SUB outputs. Gigabit Ethernet is joined by 802.11n Wi-Fi, and its card reader supports the major formats, including xD-Picture cards.

We've said it in a previous review and we'll say it again: it’s hard to find a serious fault with the Acer Aspire TimelineX 5820T. It has extremely long battery life, while remaining powerful enough for all but the most specialist of tasks, and it does so while retaining fine build quality and plenty of desirability. At just £552 exc VAT, it’s hard to think of many better home all-rounders.

Author: David Bayon

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Where can you buy the laptop featured

David I have been unable to find a retailer offering this model of laptop i.e. 2.4GHz Core i3-370M. And, is the price £552 ex VAT (as mentioned in the detail of the review), or £528 ex VAT (shown as "the Price When reviewed")? Would you point me to a retailer please?

By carroni on 10 Nov 2010

Where to buy

Sorry, I should clarify. The new model with the 2.4GHz CPU has the part code LX.PTG02.153 and can be found here: http://www.saveonlaptops.co.uk/Acer_Aspire_Timelin
e_5820T_1005700.html

Regards
David Bayon

By DavidBayon on 10 Nov 2010

Where to buy

That's great - many thanks David.

By carroni on 10 Nov 2010

Comparison

David,
Please can you tell me how you would say this compares with the HP Probook 4720S?
I'm looking for a machine with good battery life and performance, but with a 17" screen.
Thanks.

By jamesbrooke on 7 Dec 2010

Comparison

@jamesbrooke
We haven't tested the ProBook so I can only really go on spec - it looks like you can get it with similar parts to the Acer, and other commenters say it lasts between 3-6hrs depending on usage. That's not bad for a 17in laptop - you're not going to get nine-hour life at that size.

By DavidBayon on 7 Dec 2010

Ive been wanting an Acer TimelineX 5820t laptop for months - but the spec with a ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5650 switchable graphics card. I cannot find it anywhere? I will have to opt for a Sony S Series otherwise, but I really want this laptop as it gets great review and has a great battery life. Any help will be MUCH apprciated. Acer marketing is not the best.

By fresh1 on 27 Dec 2010

My experience

Unfortunately my experience with this computer has not been particularly good. We bought it on the recommendation of this revieww and when it arrived the computer wouldn't even turn on. Saveonlaptops were excellent and a new one arrived a week or so later. Unfortunately there was a BIOS issue that caused the sound to become distorted. Unfortunately this occured some 10 days or so after we received it and SaveonLaptops told us to send it to the Manudfacturers which we did. 10 days later the 'repaired' laptop arrived only to have the same problem. The note that came from the repair centre suggested that the next time we send them a computer with a BIOS problem we would be charged. Now I don't claim to know a lot about computers, but I only loaded on the usual bits of software (Itunes, Spotify, Mozilla and Flashplayer) and so I really expect the computer to work..

Humn.....!

I think I'll go back to SaveonLaptops..

Andrew

By leadshoes on 13 Jan 2011

@leadshoes

Sorry to hear about that, we had no problems at all during our review. Keep chasing saveonlaptops, they should help until it's fixed - if you hit any more roadblocks get in touch with us, we'll give them a helpful prod for you.

Regards
David

By DavidBayon on 14 Jan 2011

My experience part 2

Unfortunately I am having continuing problems with my acer, it has been returned twice to Acer to repair a sound problem and the last time it came back, the wireless function have stopped working and the screen has an intermittent flickering fault. SaveonLaptops are refusing to receive my laptop for a refund insisting that it has to go back, yet again, to Acer.

So I'm sorry to say that my experience with both companies hasn't been great, I would strongly recommend not purchasing from Saveonlaptops if you can avoid it.

By leadshoes on 5 Feb 2011

Great laptop, shame about the quality...

I'm just about to take my second one back to John Lewis.
The first refused to boot after about 10 days, the replacement has done the same, after 6 weeks.

Fortunately I bought through John Lewis, so initial replacement and this refund has been well handled.

No idea what to buy now though, but reading the above experiencess, I guess it has to come from JL again, just in case of problems.

By Sunroof on 16 May 2011

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
HP Envy 15 x360 review

HP Envy 15 x360

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £649
Lenovo Miix 2 11in review

Lenovo Miix 2 11in

Category: Tablets
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Hands on: Dell Venue 8 7000 series review

Hands on: Dell Venue 8 7000 series

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Asus Eeebook X205 hands on review

Asus Eeebook X205 hands on

Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £656
Compare reviews: Laptops

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.