Skip to navigation

Crucial M225 256GB review

Crucial M225 256GB

Verdict

A huge SSD that’s blazingly fast in every category

Review Date: 12 Apr 2010

Reviewed By: Darien Graham-Smith

Price when reviewed: £420 (£494 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
6 stars out of 6

Features & Design
6 stars out of 6

Value for Money
4 stars out of 6

Performance
6 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

It’s not cheap, but the 256GB Crucial M225 is capacious enough to be the only drive in your system. That’s ideal if you’re looking to upgrade a laptop, and for desktop systems the single-drive option could help keep internal spaghetti to a minimum.

And though the up-front cost is high, at £1.76 per gigabyte the M225 is actually better value than most SSDs on the market. Sure, platter-based drives go for a tenth as much, but for what it is, the Crucial is comparatively cheap.

Crucial M225 256GB

The real attraction, though, is performance. In our tests the M225 achieved a phenomenal 219MB/sec sequential read speed – rather more than twice the 101MB/sec achieved by a mechanical Samsung SpinPoint drive – and kept up 68MB/sec in our small-file read test while the Samsung averaged 59MB/sec.

Write performance was impressive too. Historically this is an area where SSDs have stumbled; but the M225’s 158MB/sec sequential write speed put the 94MB/sec Samsung to shame. Even when taxed with multi-threaded 4K writes the drive kept up an average rate of 13MB/sec — while its mechanical rival plummeted to just 1.1MB/sec.

In short, the M225 proved significantly faster than a mechanical drive in all of our tests; and, as you'd hope, automatic housekeeping via the TRIM command is supported, so if you use this drive with Windows 7 it should maintain its performance. That means you can expect it to provide a consistent speed boost no matter how you use your PC.

Not everyone’s wallet will stretch to a drive this size, but if you have the cash to spend, the M225’s value, plus an excellent five-year warranty, make it an unbeatable choice.

Author: Darien Graham-Smith

Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Trim?

Does it support Trim?

By jmiii on 13 Apr 2010

Good point. Yes, it supports TRIM. Thanks for the comment - I'll update the review to make that clear!

By DarienGS on 13 Apr 2010

Physical form factor?

Thanks for the review of something of a watershed product. Still too pricey for me though!

I assume from the picture it's 2.5". My laptop takes 1.8" drives but just thought I'd check.

By Cantabrian on 13 Apr 2010

SATA

Possibly silly question - is this a SATA 2 or 3 drive? Would this make any difference to performance anyway?

By piphil on 14 Apr 2010

SSDs would make a good topic for a full Article

This particular drive whilst relatively economical by SSC standards is very far from leading-edge.
It uses the Indillix Barefoot controller which was the best of the older generation drives, but is now a little out of date (read "slow").

As per my title a thorough review of the current "state of the art" with SSDs would make a great PcPro article!

By wittgenfrog on 14 Apr 2010

I agree entirely... check out issue 188 of PC Pro, on sale tomorrow, in which I put 18 models to the test!

(And for the record, to answer an earlier comment, this is a SATA/300 drive.)

By DarienGS on 14 Apr 2010

@DarienGS - BAH!!! HUMBUG, and where's my subscription copy got to!

By wittgenfrog on 14 Apr 2010

Intel X25 80GB

Regarding performance, how does it compare to the Intel X25 80GB? Recently I put such a disk in a SMB server, result is interesting but not marvelous.

By fleboutte on 15 Apr 2010

Crucial RealSSD

How about reviewing the new Crucial RealSSD C300 SATA 6 drive?

By boriscr on 15 Apr 2010

Anyone interested in an SSD should read the articles at Anandtech.com. There is some very good in-depth information regarding the various controllers, and how they affect performance.

By Ex_Sailor on 18 Apr 2010

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Hard disks Reviews
WD Black² Dual Drive review

WD Black² Dual Drive

Category: Hard disks
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £230
Samsung 840 Pro review

Samsung 840 Pro

Category: Hard disks
Rating: 6 out of 6
Price: £180
SanDisk Ultra Plus review

SanDisk Ultra Plus

Category: Hard disks
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £130
OCZ Vector review

OCZ Vector

Category: Hard disks
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £190
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.D review

Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.D

Category: Hard disks
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £78
Compare reviews: Hard disks

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.