Skip to navigation

Sony Alpha NEX-6 review

Verdict

The first compromise-free compact system camera: it's a delight to use, and delivers first class image quality

Review Date: 7 Dec 2012

Reviewed By: Ben Pitt

Price when reviewed: £683 (£820 inc VAT)

Buy it now for: £650
(see more store prices)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
6 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
5 stars out of 6

Image Quality
6 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

Sony Alpha NEX-6 prices

Best Prices

Price comparison powered by Reevoo

£650
£779
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Again : This is PC PRO

So why yet another camera review, or could you not pick one from the previous lot just reviewed for your stocking filler.

By davidk1962 on 7 Dec 2012

@davidk1962
To be fair PC Pro have been reviewing digital cameras since before they were worth buying (the cameras, not the magazine).

It's probably best just not to click on things you've little interest in, a luxury not available in the printed magazine where I still have to turn unwanted pages to get to the next article. Almost makes me want to subscribe to the digital edition.

By Mark_Thompson on 7 Dec 2012

Who said...

Who said I was not interested, I am in fact very interested but I visit a site that reviews cameras and nothing else for information on such matters (and independant to boot). All I need to do now is find one that reviews PCs a bit more often.

This was not meant as a direct attack, but I am not the first here to notice that PCPRO seem to be losing direction a little.

By davidk1962 on 7 Dec 2012

Getting back to the camera review for a moment.Very nice, but not as nice as the even more expensive Fuji X-E1 CSC!

By Jaberwocky on 7 Dec 2012

@davidk1962

Its PC Pro - which I take to mean not just motherboards and processors related to PCs but also accessories like digital cameras. I find these accessory reviews more useful than the motherboard reviews - if only because I buy more accessories than motherboards

By cyberindie on 10 Dec 2012

I agree with cyberindie

The line has blurred as to what is a "computer" anymore. Cameras that have computers on-board, store to memory cards and you offload the images onto your PC are very different to the film-based cameras of the past.

I'd like to see more accessories reviewed - especially the budget end of the market which is often ignored. Of course this camera is likely to be good - it's ridiculously expensive for a compact camera. The majority of people would be more interested in much cheaper compact cameras.

David.

By artiss on 10 Dec 2012

@cyberinde

"...accessories like digital cameras."

That made me laugh! Of course, anyone who takes their photography seriously knows that it is the PC which is the accessory to the camera :)

By martindaler on 10 Dec 2012

Philosophy 101

Actually Computers and Camera's are the accessories to life......

excuse me whilst I go meditate
:-)

By Jaberwocky on 11 Dec 2012

Incomplete...

I have no issue with PC Pro reviewing things like cameras, but as a serious photographer I do take exception to their doing a shoddy job. No mention is made of the sensor size in the review nor of the quality/availability of additional lenses - both matters of considerable importance to someone sufficiently interested in photography to be considering spending nearly £700 on a camera & kit lens. Both Canon and Nikon have DSLR kits based on cropped sensors costing less money so either do the review well or leave it to others who can carry out a complete review.

By Minou on 15 Dec 2012

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Samsung NX30 review

Samsung NX30

Category: Digital cameras
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £899
Canon PowerShot G16 review

Canon PowerShot G16

Category: Digital cameras
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £539
Sony Cybershot DSC-QX10 review

Sony Cybershot DSC-QX10

Category: Digital cameras
Rating: 2 out of 6
Price: £180
Pentax K-500 review

Pentax K-500

Category: Digital cameras
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £349
Canon EOS 70D review

Canon EOS 70D

Category: Digital cameras
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £1,079
Compare reviews: Digital cameras

advertisement

Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.