Skip to navigation

Chillblast Fusion Elixir review

Verdict

An extremely impressive budget PC that's a jack of all trades - and a master of those that really matter at this price

Review Date: 9 Feb 2012

Reviewed By: Mike Jennings

Price when reviewed: £499 (£599 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
5 stars out of 6

Features & Design
5 stars out of 6

Value for Money
5 stars out of 6

Performance
5 stars out of 6

PCPRO Recommended

While some PCs concentrate on specific aspects to the detriment of others, Chillblast has put together a very well-rounded machine – at least for the relatively modest price of £599.

We’re used to seeing Intel’s mid-range Core i5-2500K dominate the mid-range, but here it gets a boost from some hefty overclocking: a boost from 3.3GHz to 4.5GHz is enough to return a benchmark score of 1.1, enough to see to all but the toughest of applications and equal to the excellent Palicomp Phoenix i5 Destiny.

The graphics card, an Asus-branded Radeon HD 6850, is equally impressive thanks to a core that’s been overclocked from 775MHz to 790MHz. Its average of 36fps in our 1,920 x 1,080 Very High quality Crysis test means the Fusion Elixir means it’s got the grunt to play games at 1080p – and easily trumps the Palicomp, which included a weaker HD 5670.

Chillblast Fusion Elixir

The EZCool A200D chassis is a Chillblast favourite for budget machines, and it’s easy to see why. The meshed, chrome-effect design looks dearer than it is, and build quality is good. The luxury of a neat, painted interior and a motherboard tray is a rarity this month, and it helps create a PC that’s both tidy and aesthetically pleasing.

Upgrade room is generous, although not perfect. While there are two spare DIMMs, one of them is impeded by the CPU’s Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev. 2 heatsink, and you won’t be able to easily add a second graphics card: the vacant PCI Express x16 slot runs at just x4 speed, and the EZCool power supply has no spare 6-pin power connectors, despite a healthy 650W rating.

1 2
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Freezer 7 Pro and memory uprades

Just to clarify, although the fan of this cooler does cover the left-most memory slot, the whole black section unclips in seconds allowing access to the slot for future upgrades (of up to 32GB!).

Also, the warranty is a 2 year collect and return rather than 12 months RTB :)

By Chillblast on 9 Feb 2012

Quite tempting...

I'm interested in a triple-monitor setup, would the HD 6850 let me send a picture to two monitors over DVI and picture+sound to my TV over HDMI..?

By Alex_G on 10 Feb 2012

Hi Alex

The 6850 will support output to three screens, but one must use a DisplayPort connector, or use an active DisplayPort to DVI adaptor. Assuming one of your two screens is set up in this way, you can output to your two screens and to your TV (with sound) all at once :)

By Chillblast on 10 Feb 2012

@Chillblast

Excellent, thanks a lot for the reply!

By Alex_G on 10 Feb 2012

Hi

sorry for the silly question
still using a 6 year old xp pc.

but would this pc run football manager 2012 at full detail. ie all the leagues and players

thanks

By jont1974 on 13 Feb 2012

Liking the sound of this. I am definitely in the budget market with a maximum of £600 to spend. My current pc is slowly dying, just need to decide whether to get another desktop or a larger laptop replacement. I take it this offer is only for the CPU, as pictured? I'd have to find a monitor and keyboard myself?

By stormN on 14 Feb 2012

It would indeed run Football Manager 2012 at full detail :)

As standard the Elixir is a base unit, but we offer a great range of competitively priced screens and keyboards. You can also use your existing screen until you save up for a new one. The best thing about desktops is that you can upgrade them as you go - a laptop is a fixed spec :)

By Chillblast on 16 Feb 2012

Can't find a better PC, serious ! ! !

I kept comparing Chillblast's PC's with Palicomp's offerings, and couldn't decide who to talk to. Like all major purchases, you're not just buying from a "box shifter". Spoke to them both, and quickly found out which one that was.
Choose the Elixir to replace my old pc, the Elixir ticks all the big boxes I need to do my company work, and still be able to have enough fun this side of my Xbox 360. I can now watch HD recordings from our holidays and days out. Just installed Office 2010 Pro Plus, and each displays Excel,Word and Publisher in 3sec's flat. If Windows 8 is predicted load quicker than 7, then on this PC it will be appearing after you release the on/off button. With the motherboard, you can future proof for the next generation of software to come.
The other reason I purchased another PC and not a laptop is simple. My old PC is still going and was cheap to add to and upgrade, where my laptop is two years younger and will cost so much more to upgrade or get it repaired as it is becoming very flaky (could be 'cause it's running Vista :-/).
I work with IT hardware for my sins, and would highly recommend this for now and the future. I'm gonna name mine "Kate's dirty sister" Quote from Sebastian Vettel. A winning combination year after year.

By Jamier100 on 17 Feb 2012

Benchmark scores

Why were the benchmark tests apparently carried out using 4Gb RAM when this PCs specification shows 8Gb?

By JohnHLewis on 18 Apr 2012

Benchmark scores

Why were the benchmark tests apparently carried out using 4Gb RAM when this PCs specification shows 8Gb?

By JohnHLewis on 18 Apr 2012

noodles1

can i use xp on this pc

By noodles1 on 19 May 2012

Really Impressed and Brilliant Service

Based on PC Pro's A-List recommendations I bought an Elixir from Chillblast with a free upgrade to the new Ivy Bridge Intel i5 Core 3750 CPU, overclocked up to 4.5GHz. I was really pleased with the performance, but I found the MSI HD 6850 Cyclone Graphics Card that came with my PC (a change from the one in your review I think) too noisy for me. A quick call to support and they sent a van to collect the PC and return to base. Their engineers, who mainly appear to be rocket scientists from Russia, Central and Eastern Europe, looked at it, replaced the Graphics card with a quieter MSI 6850 card, added some resistors to the wiring and generally twiddled about and now its like the machine I hoped to get, nice and quiet as per your review but with great performance. I'm deeply impressed by Chillblast's level of service (you wouldn't get that from the big boys), and would highly, highly recommend them. PS If you make an order, there is a section at the end where you can add some notes, so if you want a quiet machine rather than out and out performance, tell them there or phone pre-sales support, otherwise they have a specific section that sells "silent machines".

By Slapdash on 2 Aug 2012

Really Impressed and Brilliant Service

Based on PC Pro's A-List recommendations I bought an Elixir from Chillblast with a free upgrade to the new Ivy Bridge Intel i5 Core 3750 CPU, overclocked up to 4.5GHz. I was really pleased with the performance, but I found the MSI HD 6850 Cyclone Graphics Card that came with my PC (a change from the one in your review I think) too noisy for me. A quick call to support and they sent a van to collect the PC and return to base. Their engineers, who mainly appear to be rocket scientists from Russia, Central and Eastern Europe, looked at it, replaced the Graphics card with a quieter MSI 6850 card, added some resistors to the wiring and generally twiddled about and now its like the machine I hoped to get, nice and quiet as per your review but with great performance. I'm deeply impressed by Chillblast's level of service (you wouldn't get that from the big boys), and would highly, highly recommend them. PS If you make an order, there is a section at the end where you can add some notes, so if you want a quiet machine rather than out and out performance, tell them there or phone pre-sales support, otherwise they have a specific section that sells "silent machines".

By Slapdash on 2 Aug 2012

Really Impressed and Brilliant Service

Based on PC Pro's A-List recommendations I bought an Elixir from Chillblast with a free upgrade to the new Ivy Bridge Intel i5 Core 3750 CPU, overclocked up to 4.5GHz. I was really pleased with the performance, but I found the MSI HD 6850 Cyclone Graphics Card that came with my PC (a change from the one in your review I think) too noisy for me. A quick call to support and they sent a van to collect the PC and return to base. Their engineers, who mainly appear to be rocket scientists from Russia, Central and Eastern Europe, looked at it, replaced the Graphics card with a quieter MSI 6850 card, added some resistors to the wiring and generally twiddled about and now its like the machine I hoped to get, nice and quiet as per your review but with great performance. I'm deeply impressed by Chillblast's level of service (you wouldn't get that from the big boys), and would highly, highly recommend them. PS If you make an order, there is a section at the end where you can add some notes, so if you want a quiet machine rather than out and out performance, tell them there or phone pre-sales support, otherwise they have a specific section that sells "silent machines".

By Slapdash on 2 Aug 2012

Delivery

£30.00 inc VAT for delivery....???

By Consumer99 on 18 Feb 2013

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
DinoPC Kaverian 7850K review

DinoPC Kaverian 7850K

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £560
CCL Elite Kestrel IV review

CCL Elite Kestrel IV

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £510
Wired2Fire Diablo Ultima review

Wired2Fire Diablo Ultima

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £600
Chillblast Fusion Quasar review

Chillblast Fusion Quasar

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £600
Tranquil PC Abel H2-5 review

Tranquil PC Abel H2-5

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £848
Compare reviews: Desktop PCs

advertisement

Most Commented Reviews
Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features
Latest Real World Computing

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.