Skip to navigation

Advent DT1308 review

Verdict

Not the best built PC ever, but a rock-bottom price and Core i5 performance make for a tempting purchase

Review Date: 22 Sep 2011

Reviewed By: Mike Jennings

Price when reviewed: £333 (£400 inc VAT)

Overall Rating
4 stars out of 6

Features & Design
2 stars out of 6

Value for Money
6 stars out of 6

Performance
4 stars out of 6

Details
Part Code DT1308
Review Date 22 Sep 2011
Price ex VAT £333
Price inc VAT £400
Overall rating 4 stars out of 6
Performance 4 stars out of 6
Features & Design 2 stars out of 6
Value for Money 6 stars out of 6
Warranty
Warranty 1 yr return to base
Basic specifications
Total hard disk capacity 1,000GB
RAM capacity 3.00GB
Processor
CPU family Intel Core i5
CPU nominal frequency 2.90GHz
Processor socket LGA 1155
Motherboard
Conventional PCI slots free 0
Conventional PCI slots total 0
PCI-E x16 slots free 1
PCI-E x16 slots total 1
PCI-E x8 slots free 0
PCI-E x8 slots total 0
PCI-E x4 slots free 0
PCI-E x4 slots total 0
PCI-E x1 slots free 1
PCI-E x1 slots total 1
Internal SATA connectors 5
Wired adapter speed 1,000Mbits/sec
Memory
Memory type DDR3
Memory sockets free 2
Memory sockets total 4
Hard disk
Capacity 1.00TB
Hard disk usable capacity 931GB
Internal disk interface SATA/300
Spindle speed 7,200RPM
Cache size 32MB
Drives
Optical disc technology DVD writer
Rear ports
USB ports (downstream) 4
PS/2 mouse port yes
Electrical S/PDIF audio ports 0
Optical S/PDIF audio output ports 0
Modem no
3.5mm audio jacks 6
Graphics card
Graphics card Intel HD 2000
Multiple SLI/CrossFire cards? no
3D performance setting Low
Graphics chipset Intel HD 2000
Graphics card RAM 512MB
DVI-I outputs 1
HDMI outputs 1
VGA (D-SUB) outputs 1
DisplayPort outputs 0
Number of graphics cards 1
Case
Case format Full tower
Dimensions 186 x 394 x 380mm (WDH)
Free drive bays
Free front panel 5.25in bays 1
Front ports
Front panel USB ports 2
Front panel memory card reader yes
Operating system and software
OS family Windows 7
Noise and power
Idle power consumption 69W
Peak power consumption 114W
Performance tests
3D performance (crysis) low settings 25fps
3D performance setting Low
Overall Real World Benchmark score 0.84
Responsiveness score 0.86
Media score 0.86
Multitasking score 0.80
Subscribe to PC Pro magazine. We'll give you 3 issues for £1 plus a free gift - click here
User comments

Not that cheap ...

...when you can get a Dell Vostro with a better processor delivered to your door for £390

By jmiii on 22 Sep 2011

@jmiii
Does that come with keyboard and mouse

By curiousclive on 22 Sep 2011

Yes

It does

By jmiii on 22 Sep 2011

Dell Vostro £390 delivered??

could I have the details of this Vostro - as I can't work out how you can get one with the same RAM and Harddrive for less than over £500 including VAT and Del.

By MDSmith71 on 22 Sep 2011

http://www.dell.com/uk/business/p/vostro-460/pd?oc
=d104601&model_id=vostro-460

By jmiii on 22 Sep 2011

thanks for the link...

but still very confused. Yes the base model is £299 +VAT but if I up the RAM and the Harddrive to be at least the same as above, from 320gb HDD and 2gb to 4GB (no 3Gb option) and 1TB hardrive then the cost is £550 inc VAT. So I get a slightly faster CPU but at £150 more.

By MDSmith71 on 22 Sep 2011

thanks for the link...

but still very confused. Yes the base model is £299 +VAT but if I up the RAM and the Harddrive to be at least the same as above, from 320gb HDD and 2gb to 4GB (no 3Gb option) and 1TB hardrive then the cost is £550 inc VAT. So I get a slightly faster CPU but at £150 more.

By MDSmith71 on 22 Sep 2011

Confused?

Buy a 1GB of RAM from Crucial for £7 and another 750GB hard disk for about £35. I didn't say the spec of the Dell was the same at the Advent. I simply pointed out that it wasn't that cheap. You can decide which machine you would rather own or supply to your clients. I'd choose the Dell.

By jmiii on 22 Sep 2011

Dell Vostro 460

Compared to the Advent, the Dell doesn't represent better value for money. Given that the faster CPU in the Dell retails for only £8 more than the i5-2310 in the Advent, you wouldn't expect Dell to compromise so much on the other core specifications.

By Duggie on 23 Sep 2011

Advent Vs Dell

The reall issue here is that the Vostro is Dell's Business-orientated desktop whilst the Advent is aimed at home users. Yes you could upgrade the internal components of the Dell but that would be ignoring the whole point of the review, which was to supply a Core i5 desktop for £400 inc VAT.

By MDSmith71 on 23 Sep 2011

terwsdsd

http://top4biz。com
Online Store,Get Name Brand Fashion From 12USD Now!
Lv,Gucci,Prada,Coach,Chanel Women sandal is $30
DG,JUICY,Lv,Gucci,Coach Hand-bag price is $35
Polo,Locaste,Levis,EdHardy,Bape,Christan Audigier AF,COOGI Tshirt price is $12
http://top4biz。com
Jeans price is $34,Door to Door services!
5 days arrive your home or you

By linaadd on 3 Oct 2011

Where can I get one?

Sorry if I am being a bit thick but where can I get one of these PC's. I checked the PC world website but it is not available? Reviewed less than 2 months ago and its not available? Is their an alternative advent for similar spec / money?

Thanks

By doncasterrunner on 14 Nov 2011

Did this computer ever exist?

Still looking for this computer.

Nothing on Advents website. How long does PC Pro expect review PC's to be available after the review?

http://www.advent.co.uk/index.php?cat=pc

By doncasterrunner on 15 Nov 2011

Leave a comment

You need to Login or Register to comment.

(optional)

Latest Category Reviews
Acer Aspire ZC-606 review

Acer Aspire ZC-606

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £319
Acer Aspire U5-620 review

Acer Aspire U5-620

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 4 out of 6
Price: £1,025
Chillblast Fusion Dragon review

Chillblast Fusion Dragon

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £1,694
Yoyotech Warbird Nightblade 1 review

Yoyotech Warbird Nightblade 1

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 5 out of 6
Price: £950
PC World  Advent DT 3411 review

PC World Advent DT 3411

Category: Desktop PCs
Rating: 3 out of 6
Price: £480
Compare reviews: Desktop PCs

advertisement

Latest News Stories Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Blog Posts Subscribe to our RSS Feeds
Latest Features

advertisement

Sponsored Links
 

 
SEARCH
Loading
WEB ID
SIGN UP

Your email:

Your password:

remember me

advertisement


Hitwise Top 10 Website 2010
 
 

PCPro-Computing in the Real World Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.pcpro.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.