ACS Law: latest file-sharing threat letters are fake
By Nicole Kobie
Posted on 21 Jul 2011 at 10:01
Solicitor Andrew Crossley has denied reports that his now-defunct law firm is sending file-sharing settlement emails to people in Greece.
In the latest odd twist in the ACS Law story, there have been reports of settlement emails being received in Greece using the firm's name.
This is obviously a scam. I am reporting the matter to the police
ACS Law and sole solicitor Crossley sent letters to thousands of alleged illegal file-sharers, demanding settlement payments of £500. The speculative invoicing system fell apart when Crossley finally took 27 accused to court, and has since shut down the firm and declared bankruptcy.
Ralli Solicitors acted for several of the defendants, and last week announced it had privately settled with the now-defunct firm over wasted costs. Now, it is investigating reports that people in Greece received emails in June from someone claiming to act for ACS Law.
The letters demand payment of £1,665 be sent to a London address care of ACS Law, and say the firm is working on behalf of rights firm DigiProtect.
Ralli Solicitors said it was "advising clients" on the letters, but solicitor Michael Forrester said "we may be dealing with an imposter”.
Crossley told PC Pro: "This is obviously a scam. I am reporting the matter to the police...it is not a demand made by me and it is quite clear from the way it was written that it was not."
He said he was "shocked and surprised" that Ralli Solicitors "would be so gullible as to be taken in by such an obviously fake communication as to suggest I was in any way connected with it".
Crossley questioned why the firm would contact the BBC with the story "rather than pick up the phone to ask me directly".
Strange emails
Indeed, the emails are full of oddities that suggest something dodgy is going on. They are sent from a no-reply address on the "acs.com" domain - a web address used by an IT services company in Boston. We asked Ralli Solicitors for a look at the email headers, and the firm said it is looking into the issue.
The emails are not signed off with a name, but direct recipients to send cheques of £1,665 to ACS Law at an address in Hanover Square, London. That address, number 18, used to be home to serviced offices that once housed ACS Law, but has been torn down in order to make way for the new Bond Street Crossrail station. The post code is also inaccurate.
In addition, ACS Law mailed notices on official letterhead; it didn't send emails. As well, the messages in question are full of grammatical errors, a classic sign of phishing emails - with such mistakes not seen in the original ACS letters.
It's unclear exactly what is going on. Former staff of ACS Law did attempt to restart sending settlement letters in January, but they didn't do it under the firm's name, setting up a shell company to accept payments.
We've asked DigiProtect if it has restarted working with ACS Law or is sending any speculative invoicing letters to file-sharers, but have yet to hear back.
Crossley still faces a hearing before the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal, expected to take place in October, where he stands accused of taking "advantage" of alleged file-sharers.
"Crossley told PC Pro: "This is obviously a scam."
heh
By steviesteveo12 on 21 Jul 2011 ![]()
hmmm....
"...it is not a demand made by me and it is quite clear from the way it was written that it was not."
So the emails contain an ounce of humanity then?
By revsorg on 21 Jul 2011 ![]()
@revsorg They're actually rather nasty emails themselves - same threats, but with spelling errors.
By Nicole_Kobie on 21 Jul 2011 ![]()
Dimwitt scammers?
My first thought is that it's the usual phishing scam attempting to cash in on what ACS:Law were doing
Typically the scammers haven't done their research to discover what's happening in recent events - they tend not to be too bright in any case. Hover, asking for cheques to be sent to an address that no longer exists? How do these scammers expect to pick up the money?
Unless either they planned to wander in after a month or two & collect the mail or they've set up a forwarding address.
Anyone asked the Post Office if the latter might be the case?
By greemble on 21 Jul 2011 ![]()
Hi Greemble,
Royal Mail are looking into it, but say they might not be able to share the information with us. We checked with the managed services office that use to be based there, and they say they aren't forwarding the mail. All very strange. If anyone has any ideas how else this could be working, I'd love to hear them...
Nicole Kobie,
News Editor
By Nicole_Kobie on 21 Jul 2011 ![]()
Same as the first scam then.
Not ACS law? Same scum, different pond.
By cheysuli on 21 Jul 2011 ![]()
managed services office
So, they'll be holding any mail that arrives?
Has any mail arrived?
Will they hand it over to anyone that asks for it?
Maybe, just to be sure, send a letter addressed to ACS:Law (from out of London), then call the office management service to ask what they might do with the mail.
Agreed - All very strange...
By greemble on 22 Jul 2011 ![]()
advertisement
- Hands on with the new Google Maps
- Nokia Lumia 925 review: first look
- Why I won't subscribe to Creative Cloud
- GoPro camera strapped to a remote-control helicopter: the ultimate boy's toy
- Acer Iconia A1 review: first look
- Acer Aspire P3 review: first look
- Acer Aspire R7 review: first look
- How we produce the PC Pro podcast
- Google Now draining iPhone battery
- The government website that doesn't work with IE, Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Macs or smartphones
- How to fix Facebook: Social Fixer
- Taking the stress out of WordPress updates
- Where to download free web fonts
- Turn your tablet into a Sky+ remote control
- How to measure the success of a new IT system
- Three years on: the state of the tablet market
- Windows 8: what works and what doesn't
- Yes, I write down my passwords
- How to make money from apps
- Hack your own radio transmitter
advertisement
