<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>PC Pro blog &#187; id theft</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/tag/id-theft/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs</link>
	<description>Blogging in the real world</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 08 Feb 2012 16:54:13 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.4</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Help, somebody&#8217;s stolen my company!</title>
		<link>http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2008/09/17/help-somebodys-stolen-my-company/</link>
		<comments>http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2008/09/17/help-somebodys-stolen-my-company/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 17 Sep 2008 13:29:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Tim Danton</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Random]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[id theft]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[internet safety]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SiteAdvisor]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/?p=3282</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The online world is a strange, wonderful and unsafe place. In this week alone, I&#8217;ve received two emails detailing abuse of the PC Pro Recommended logo on websites: one by a company called innoIT, the other for a product titled WebWatcher (I won&#8217;t give them the dignity of a web link, for obvious reasons).
The implication, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The online world is a strange, wonderful and unsafe place. In this week alone, I&#8217;ve received two emails detailing abuse of the PC Pro Recommended logo on websites: one by a company called innoIT, the other for a product titled WebWatcher (I won&#8217;t give them the dignity of a web link, for obvious reasons).</p>
<p>The implication, of course, is that we&#8217;ve recommended their products. In one case, that we awarded them the title of Software of the Year 2007. And an innocent browser may be fooled &#8211; both sites look professional, with good design and a truckload of commendations.</p>
<p>Except, of course, that they&#8217;re commendations about an entirely different company. In the case of innoIT, the page of &#8220;genuine&#8221; quotes from customers actually bears a stunning similarity to those on the wholly reputable site from <strong><a title="PC Specialist" href="http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk" target="_blank">PC Specialist</a></strong> &#8211; which has actually earned any awards it displays.</p>
<p>This is just the tip of the iceberg. Colleagues from our sister site <strong><a title="IT Pro" href="http://www.itpro.co.uk" target="_blank">IT Pro</a></strong> were shocked to see a site with a not too dissimilar URL that had pretty much lifted the site wholesale, not even bothering to change the name of the staff who were writing the stories.</p>
<p><span id="more-3282"></span>In fact, the only thing that had changed was the contact for advertising&#8230;</p>
<p>Naturally, the powers-that-be at Dennis Technology served that site with a cease-and-desist notice, but with it being owned by a foreign company and served on a foreign host, this is rarely going to get immediate results.</p>
<p>So what&#8217;s the conclusion? The obvious one is browse with cynicism, but there are tools out there that can help. <strong><a title="McAfee Site Advisor" href="http://www.siteadvisor.com" target="_blank">McAfee SiteAdvisor</a></strong> may have its faults, on one occasion giving PC Pro a red rating the little terrors, but it rarely gives false positives.</p>
<p>I&#8217;d be interested to hear if anyone else in other industries has suffered similar problems. Identity theft on a corporate scale could be the next big thing&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2008/09/17/help-somebodys-stolen-my-company/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

