Posted on October 13th, 2008 by Tim Danton
The world’s least convincing phishing message?
Hot on the heels of what was quite a reasonable phishing message, this morning I received one that was a little less polished.
It started off quite well, with the mail purporting to come from HSBC bank, and the actual email address was security@hbcs.com, which might just squeeze past some people’s radar.
But what went on with the embedded link? It contains the top-level domain “inhabit.com.au”, which doesn’t sound much like HSBC to me, nor I suspect to anyone who’s technical enough to launch a web browser.
Then again, these things must work or they wouldn’t bother sending them. My question is, has anyone actually received a less convincing phishing message?
Leave a Reply
Categories
- About the bloggers
- Green
- Hardware
- How To
- Just in
- Microsoft Office 2010
- Newsdesk
- Online business
- Random
- Rant
- Real World Computing
- Software
- View from the Labs
- Windows 7
Authors
Archives
- November 2009
- October 2009
- September 2009
- August 2009
- July 2009
- June 2009
- May 2009
- April 2009
- March 2009
- February 2009
- January 2009
- December 2008
- November 2008
- October 2008
- September 2008
- August 2008
- July 2008
- June 2008
- May 2008
- April 2008
advertisement
Printed from www.pcpro.co.uk






















Social Bookmark this article: What is this?